Skip to main content

Short to Medium Term Option
Developing Brownfield Sites

What is a "brownfield" site?

The term "Brownfield" is defined differently in different places. For example, in the United Kingdom and the United States, brownfield usually refers to former industrial land which has been left idle and contaminated. In Hong Kong, the term generally refers to former agricultural land in the New Territories (NT) which has been converted to other uses due to the decline of agriculture.

Brownfield sites are not idle and are commonly used for open storage, port back-up facilities (including container lorry parks and container yards), logistics operations, vehicle parking, vehicle repair workshops, recycling yards, rural workshops and storage areas for construction machinery and materials. Many of these operations are essential to our city and can hardly find suitable space in urban areas.

Besides, brownfield sites in Hong Kong are scattered in different areas, vary in size and are of irregular shape. They often intermingle with villages, squatters, active or fallow farmland and fish ponds; they lack infrastructure facilities needed to support high-density development such as roads and sewerage.

Current Size and Distribution of Brownfield Sites

  • It is estimated that about 1,300 ha of land in the NT may be regarded as "brownfield sites", accounting for about 1% of Hong Kong's total land area. The data is subject to confirmation by the Study on the Existing Profile and Operations of Brownfield Sites in the NT being conducted by PlanD.
  • Around 540 ha of brownfield sites have been covered by the large-scale development projects in the pipeline, including the Kwu Tung North / Fanling North NDA, Hung Shui Kiu NDA, Yuen Long South and NT North.
Large-scale development project Estimated development area Estimated area of affected brownfield sites Estimated flat production / population for the whole project Estimated year of population intake
Kwu Tung North / Fanling North NDA 320 ha 50 ha 60,000 units 2023 - 2031
Hung Shui Kiu NDA 441 ha 190 ha 61,000 units 2024 - 2038
Yuen Long South development 185 ha 100 ha 28,500 units 2027 - 2038
Potential development areas in NT North 720 ha 200 ha Population: around 255,000 / 350,000 Beyond 2030
Total Around 1,666 ha Around 540 ha Around 150,000 housing units and around 255,000/350,000 population in NT North
  • The remaining 760 ha of brownfield sites are scattered in different parts of the rural NT, such as Ping Shan, Wang Chau, Kam Tin, Pat Heung, Shek Kong, Ngau Tam Mei, San Tin and Lung Kwu Tan, etc. The Government will explore the appropriate ways to handle these sites, taking into account the findings of the brownfield study being conducted by PlanD.

Distribution of Brownfield Sites

Benefits of Development

Developing brownfield sites rationalises rural land uses, improves the rural environment in the NT and brings environmental benefits.

Developing brownfield sites would have less conservation concerns. It is often inevitable to develop brownfield sites together with the adjoining farmland, squatters, fishpond etc; but, overall, it provides an easier option to create developable land without encroaching on ecologically sensitive areas.

Certain industries commonly found on brownfield sites, such as construction, logistics, vehicle repair and recycling, still require land for their operations.

While developing brownfield sites, the Government has to reserve additional land for accommodating these operations in a more land-efficient manner (e.g. specially designed multi-storey industrial buildings). Some operations (such as the storage of large-scale construction equipment) may even need to continue their open-air operation.

After resuming brownfield sites for housing development, alternative land has to be identified for the operations of these businesses, hence the net gain in land would be decreased. Take Hung Shui Kiu NDA as an example; around 190 ha of brownfield sites would be resumed, of which around 61 ha of land needs to be reserved within the NDA for port back-up, storage, workshops and modern logistics uses.

Costs of Development

As brownfield sites are mostly privately owned, the development of brownfield sites involves land resumption and compensation. Some of the brownfield sites may be contaminated and require decontamination.

Most of the brownfield sites lack proper infrastructure to support high-density development. Substantial investment in upgrading the relevant infrastructural facilities is required, such as road networks, drainage systems and flood control measures.

Some industries such as construction, logistics, recycling and vehicle repair have been relying heavily on the cheap rents of the open-air brownfield sites, at around several dollars per square feet per month on average. These industries in brownfield sites also provide employment opportunities to the population in the local districts. Developing brownfield sites would inevitably displace some of the existing operators. Some may close their business, while others may move and continue their business in multi-storey industrial buildings in other areas with higher operating costs. Some smaller-scale or less profitable operators may be phased out, increasing the overall business cost of the whole industrial chain. Certain types of jobs will be lost. These economic and social costs would eventually be borne by the society as a whole.

Challenges and Uncertainties

Not every brownfield site has the potential for high-density development. Apart from the large-scale brownfield sites that have already been covered by various NDA projects, the remaining smaller-scale and irregularly shaped brownfield sites are scattered in the rural NT and intermingled with agricultural land, village houses and squatters. It will be difficult to achieve economies of scale in their development.

To unleash the development potential of brownfield sites to the fullest extent, there is a need to pursue large-scale comprehensive planning, which involves detailed engineering and environmental studies; various stages of community engagement exercises; statutory procedures such as environmental impact assessment, planning, building of roads and sewage infrastructure; funding applications to LegCo and the resumption of private land before construction can start. In total, this will require more than 10 years.

Most brownfield sites are privately owned, including those under collective ownership of Tso/Tong. The Government needs to follow relevant procedures when exercising its authority under the Land Resumption Ordinance (Cap. 124) and other laws to resume private land for public development. The process is bound to be lengthy and challenging.

It is never easy to identify alternative sites to accommodate brownfield operations and gain support from local residents. In addition, there are different views on whether the Government should subsidise the construction and operation of the proposed multi-storey industrial buildings. The society needs to reach a consensus on how to strike a balance between the trade-offs of releasing land for development, reserving industrial operating space, taking care of the business of individual operators and prudent use of public money.

Key Points

  1. Brownfield sites are not idle. They are mostly used for industrial activities essential to Hong Kong which have difficulties in finding suitable space in the urban areas. As such, there is a need to consider how to accommodate those operators who want to continue their business if their sites are being resumed.
  2. Around 540 ha of brownfield sites have been covered by the medium-to-long term large-scale development projects in the pipeline, including Kwu Tung North / Fanling North NDA, Hung Shui Kiu NDA, Yuen Long South and NT North, forming one of the major sources of land supply.
  3. As for the remaining 760 ha of brownfield sites, whether they have potential for housing development is not just about the size of the land. A number of other factors have to be considered, namely the capacity of transport and other infrastructural facilities; the compatibility of housing development and the surrounding environment; whether the site can accommodate other community facilities to support the daily needs of residents; and how to relocate existing brownfield operators. The Government will consider the potential for development of those sites based on PlanD's findings of the brownfield study.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

短中期選項
棕地發展

何謂「棕地」?

「棕地」在各地有不同定義。以英國及美國為例,棕地是指閒置及受污染的前工業用地。就本港而言,棕地泛指新界一些因農業活動衰落而改作其他用途的前農地。

棕地並非閒置用地,常見的土地用途包括露天貯物、港口後勤用途(包括貨櫃車場及貨櫃場)、物流運作、停車場、車輛維修場、回收場、鄉郊工場、建造業機械及物料貯存等。這些作業大部分屬本地必需的工業,但難以在市區覓得運作空間。

此外,香港的棕地分布零散,大小不一,形狀不規則,多數夾雜村落、寮屋、常耕或休耕農地、魚塘,亦缺乏支援高密度發展的基建配套如交通、排污等。

現時棕地面積及分布

  • 根據初步估算,新界約有1 300公頃的土地可視為棕地,佔香港土地總面積約1%。有關數據有待規劃署正在進行的新界棕地使用及作業現況研究確認。
  • 政府正規劃及推展的中長期大型發展項目,包括古洞北/粉嶺北新發展區、洪水橋新發展區、元朗南及新界北,已涵蓋約540公頃的棕地。
大型發展項目 估計發展面積 估計受影響棕地面積 預計住宅單位供應數目 / 人口 預計居民入住年份
古洞北及粉嶺北新發展區 320 公頃 50 公頃 60 000個 2023 - 2031
洪水橋新發展區 441 公頃 190 公頃 61 000個 2024 - 2038
元朗南發展 185 公頃 100 公頃 28 500個 2027 - 2038
新界北具發展潛力地區 720 公頃 200 公頃 人口 : 約 25.5/ 35萬 2030 年以後
總計 約1,666公頃 約540 公頃 約15萬個住宅單位
及新界北約 25.5/ 35 萬人口
  • 其餘約760公頃的棕地,散布於新界鄉郊各處,例如屏山、橫洲、錦田、八鄉、石崗、牛潭尾、新田、龍鼓灘等。政府將參考規劃署的棕地研究結果及公眾意見,探討如何適當地處理這些棕地。

棕地分布圖

發展效益

發展棕地可理順新界鄉郊土地用途,改善鄉郊環境,帶來環境效益。

發展棕地對保育造成的影響會較低。雖然棕地往往須連同夾雜其中的農地、寮屋、魚塘等一併發展,但整體而言較容易在不涉及生態敏感地帶的情況下提供可發展土地。

部分常見於棕地的工業如建造業、物流業、車輛維修業及回收業對土地仍有需求。

政府在發展棕地的同時,須預留額外用地予這些行業,以地盡其用的方式(如特別設計的多層工業樓宇)供他們繼續營運,惟部分作業(如大型建築機械貯存)或需要繼續以露天方式運作。

由於在收回棕地作房屋發展的同時,需要另覓土地供這些行業運作,土地淨增長將會減少。以洪水橋新發展區為例,在收回約190公頃棕地的同時,須在新發展區預留61公頃作港口後勤、貯物、工場及現代物流用地。

發展成本

由於棕地大多屬私人土地,發展棕地涉及收地及補償費用。而部分棕地或受到污染,需進行土地除污工程。

大部分棕地缺乏支援高密度發展的基建配套,須投放大量資源來提升基建設施如道路、排水系統、防洪設施等。

部分行業如建造業、物流業、回收業、車輛維修業等,過去一直依賴棕地每平方呎月租約數元的低廉租金在露天場地經營。棕地亦為當區提供就業機會。發展棕地將無可避免導致部分現有經營者結束營業,或以較高的營運成本轉型至其他地區的多層工業樓宇繼續營運。一些規模較小或利潤微薄的經營者可能會因此被淘汰,相關行業鏈的營商成本亦將會增加,部分工種或會減少。上述的經濟及社會成本須由整個社會共同承擔。

挑戰和不確定性

並非每塊棕地都有潛力作高密度發展。除已被多個新發展區項目涵蓋的大型棕地群外,其餘面積較小而形狀不規則的棕地散布於新界鄉郊各處,並夾雜於農地、村屋和寮屋之間,零碎發展難以產生規模經濟的效益。

要充分發揮棕地的發展潛力,須依靠大規模的綜合規劃,牽涉詳細的工程技術及環境影響研究、多階段的社區參與及諮詢、法定環境影響評估、規劃、道路、排污基建等程序、申請立法會撥款,以及收回私人土地等,才能展開工程,需時超過10年。

大部分棕地屬私人擁有(包括集體擁有的祖堂地)。政府行使《收回土地條例》(第124章)及其他法定權力收回土地作公共發展用途時,需要按相關程序處理需時較長,過程亦具挑戰性。

要另覓地方容納棕地作業並得到當區居民支持,殊不容易。社會上對於政府應否補貼建議中的多層工業樓宇的建造和營運亦有不同的意見。在釋放土地發展、保留工業生存空間、照顧現有營運者生計,以及妥善運用公帑等各方面如何取捨,社會需要有廣泛的共識。

要點

  1. 棕地並非閒置用地,大部分正用作本地必需但難以在市區覓得空間的工業用途。收回棕地作發展要同時考慮如何安置有意繼續營運的棕地作業者。
  2. 政府正規劃及推展的大型發展項目,包括古洞北/粉嶺北和洪水橋新發展區、元朗南及新界北,已涵蓋約540公頃的棕地,是未來土地供應的主要來源之一。
  3. 至於餘下760公頃棕地是否適宜作房屋發展,不能單看土地面積,還要考慮多項因素,包括交通和其他基建設施的容量、房屋發展和周遭環境的相容性、土地能否容納其他民生設施以支援居民的日常需要,以至如何處理現行棕地作業者。因應規劃署的棕地研究結果,政府會考慮這些棕地的發展潛力。