Skip to main content

Medium to Long Term Option
Developing Caverns and Underground Space

Is Cavern Development Feasible?

Hong Kong's hilly terrain and strong rock formations make it highly suitable for developing rock caverns, particularly on the urban fringes. The relocation of suitable existing Government facilities to caverns can release above-ground sites for housing and other beneficial uses. This would reduce the amount of land occupied by them, as well as relocate facilities which do not need to be above-ground and are incompatible with the surrounding environment and land uses nearby.

Existing Government facilities built in rock caverns, such as the Stanley Sewage Treatment Works, Island West Transfer Station, Kau Shat Wan Government Explosives Depot and Western Salt Water Service Reservoirs, demonstrate that developing rock caverns is a technically viable land supply option.

Since 2010, the Government has launched a number of strategic studies and pilot projects to explore the potential of utilising rock caverns and underground space to create capacity for Hong Kong's sustainable growth. The Government has identified a total of 48 "Strategic Cavern Areas", all with potential for cavern development.

The Government has also identified existing sewage treatment works and service reservoirs in the Tsuen Wan, Sha Tin and Kowloon areas to study the feasibility of relocating them to caverns nearby. These facilities are all located in built-up areas with an established infrastructure network. The released sites will therefore be of relatively high development potential and can create a synergy effect with the adjoining areas.


Government facilities that are subject to studies on relocation to caverns
Government Facility Potential land area that can be released (ha)
Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works 28
Sai Kung Sewage Treatment Works 2.2
Sham Tseng Sewage Treatment Works 1
Tsuen Wan No 2 Fresh Water Service Reservoir 4
Diamond Hill Fresh Water and Salt Water Service Reservoirs 4
Yau Tong Group Fresh Water and Salt Water Service Reservoirs 6

Underground Space Development

Hong Kong has been using underground space for commercial purpose and provision of community and transport facilities for many years. Most existing use of underground space for development purposes is related to individual projects such as basement car parks, shopping arcades, subways, railway stations and tunnels. A holistic planning strategy from a macro and multi-level perspective, including the consideration of underground space creation and connection, is currently lacking.

Good underground planning and effective use of underground space can enhance the connectivity with the surroundings, improve the urban environment at ground level, create space for different commercial and public facilities, and optimise the development potential of scarce land resources in the long term.

  • The Civil Engineering and Development Department (CEDD) has joined forces with the PlanD to commission a "Pilot Study on Underground Space Development in Selected Strategic Urban Areas – Feasibility Study". Four strategic urban areas, namely Tsim Sha Tsui West, Causeway Bay, Happy Valley and Admiralty/Wan Chai, have been selected for further study. The project aims at evaluating the overall merits of developing underground spaces and identifying the key issues involved; formulating Underground Master Plans for these areas; and drawing up suitable conceptual schemes.

Benefits of Development

Moving suitable activities to underground space can release valuable above-ground resources.

Where there is shortage of surface land, rock caverns can provide space to accommodate suitable facilities, including some for which it is difficult to find suitable surface sites, such as maintenance depots, sewage treatment works and columbaria. Other facilities that can benefit from the stable and secure underground environment can also be set up, such as archives, warehousing, laboratories and data centres, reducing the amount of land required for them as a result.

In addition, there is potential for integrating underground quarrying with the development of a cavern land bank. With proper planning and design of underground quarries, usable cavern space can be formed to accommodate a variety of public or private sector facilities.

Underground space development can enhance connectivity and improve the above-ground pedestrian environment in congested districts through the formation of underground linkage networks. For instance, public parks and recreational spaces close to MTR stations in urban areas would offer the opportunity to develop the shallow underground spaces beneath them and connect them directly to transport and other facilities. In this way, additional walking space could be created, enhancing connectivity between different areas and helping to alleviate road congestion.

Where public acceptance and individual site situations permit, underground space development can also create additional space to accommodate suitable community, cultural and recreational facilities; provide covered public space where at-grade space is lacking; and offer space for retail and other commercial activities as well as space for other uses, complementing or even enhancing the existing urban context.

  • Overseas experience shows that cavern development can be successfully extended to a variety of uses such as (i) community and recreational facilities (e.g. sports centres, swimming complexes); (ii) storage facilities (archives, food/wine cellars, oil and gas storage); (iii) commercial and industrial facilities (data centres, logistics/warehouses, maintenance depots); and (iv) special facilities (columbaria, testing laboratories).

Costs of Development

The development cost of individual cavern projects may vary, depending on a host of factors including topographical and geotechnical conditions, and environmental considerations of the specific site. If the geotechnical conditions of the site are more complicated with greater environmental limitations, construction cost may be higher to allow for strengthening works and environmental mitigation measures. In addition, the height, size and structural layout of rock caverns will depend on the facilities moving into them. This will have direct implication on the structure of the cavern and tunnels, as well as the construction cost of the facilities and building services equipment within the caverns.

Compared with other land development options, cavern development is probably the most expensive in terms of per square metre cost (can be a few times higher than the cost of near-shore reclamation).

  • Take the relocation of Sha Tin Sewage Treatment Works as an example, the development cost of the cavern as well as associated infrastructure cost is estimated to be about HK$208,000 per square metre.
  • Considering cavern engineering work alone, the development cost is approximately HK$77,000 per square metre (assuming a cavern height ranging from 15 to 25 metres.)

The development cost for underground space is generally high as well. Besides, compared with above-ground structures and facilities, the operation, management and maintenance costs of underground structures and facilities are bound to be higher.

Various technical and implementation issues need to be resolved for underground space development, such as fire safety, land ownership and town planning issues, interfaces with existing underground uses (for example, railway stations), impact on above-ground facilities, and the high development cost.

Challenges and Uncertainties

Development of caverns is a costly and lengthy process. The development cost of individual cavern projects may vary, depending on site situations, geotechnical conditions, environmental considerations and the specific land use.

Rock cavern developments will likely involve statutory procedures (for example, those under the Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance, Country Parks Ordinance and Town Planning Ordinance). Together with the construction and associated engineering works which may vary with project scale and technical complexity, a cavern development project may take a lead time of 10 to 15 years from conception to realisation. In terms of space creation involving similar levels of time and budget, cavern options are likely to create much less space than other land supply options such as rezoning and reclamation.

Cavern development cannot offer a quick fix to the imminent problem of a shortage of developable land, particularly when the sub-surface land created by caverns is not suitable for residential uses.

Rock caverns are therefore best seen as a source of long-term land supply.

To develop underground spaces, a number of issues have to be properly resolved beforehand. These include land use planning issues, engineering works (including the obstruction of existing underground pipelines and impacts on above-ground facilities), implementation and financial arrangements, and maintenance and management responsibilities. The amount of developable sites and scale of development is usually limited by various constraints arising from the built environment.

Other challenges in developing underground space include the possible disturbance to existing surface facilities during construction of underground space beneath them; the occupation of ground-level space by structures arising from the underground space development; the impact on traffic, pedestrian flow and surrounding environment; and the high development cost.

Key Points

  1. In view of the shortage of developable land, hidden land resources such as rock caverns and underground space may offer room to accommodate suitable public or infrastructural facilities, and to support the relocation of some above-ground facilities and reduce the amount of land occupied by them. This will in turn release surface land for housing or other beneficial uses. Rock caverns and underground space can therefore indirectly increase above-ground developable space in the long term.
  2. Development of caverns and underground space is a costly and lengthy process. The space so created is generally not suitable for residential use and may not be a suitable source of land supply for high-density development.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

中長期選項
利用岩洞及地下空間

發展岩洞可行嗎?

香港山多而陡,岩石堅固,沿市區邊緣的山地特別適合發展岩洞。如把合適的現有政府設施搬遷入岩洞,既可以騰出地面土地作房屋或其他有效益的用途,減少佔用土地,也可以把與毗鄰地面環境土地用途不協調而毋須設於地面的設施移走。

現有政府岩洞設施(包括赤柱污水處理廠、港島西廢物轉運站、狗虱灣政府爆炸品倉庫及西區海水配水庫),顯示岩洞方案是一項技術上可行的土地供應選擇。

自2010年起,政府展開了多個策略性研究和先導計劃,以探討使用岩洞和地下空間的潛力,為香港的可持續發展提供更多空間。政府已識別了分布於香港各區的48個「策略性岩洞區」,它們均具潛力進行岩洞發展。

政府亦已識別了一些在荃灣、沙田和九龍區現存的污水處理廠和配水庫,以便就這些政府設施搬遷入岩洞進行可行性研究。這些設施均位於已發展地區,並有良好的基建設施網絡。因此,所騰出的土地具有較高發展潛力,並可與鄰近地區的發展產生協同效應。


正研究遷入岩洞的政府設施
政府設施 可騰出地面土地面積(公頃)
沙田污水處理廠 28
西貢污水處理廠 2.2
深井污水處理廠 1
荃灣二號食水配水庫 4
鑽石山食水及海水配水庫 4
油塘食水及海水配水庫 6

地下空間發展

香港使用地下空間作商業用途,以及設置社區和運輸設施已有多年歷史。現有的地下空間主要來自個別的發展項目,例如地庫停車場、商場、行人隧道、鐵路車站及隧道等。這些項目往往缺乏宏觀的角度及多層次的整體規劃策略,未有綜合考慮創建地下空間和相關連接。

良好的地下空間規劃和有效的地下空間運用,能強化與周圍環境的連接性、改善市區地面的環境,及創建空間作多元的商業用途和公共設施,並能長遠地優化珍貴土地資源的發展潛力。

  • 土木工程拓展署聯同規劃署正進行「城市地下空間發展:策略性地區先導研究-可行性研究」,揀選了4個策略性地區(即尖沙咀西、銅鑼灣、跑馬地和金鐘/灣仔)進行研究,以評估及辨識在市區發展地下空間的整體好處和關鍵事項;為該等地區制訂地下空間總綱圖;以及擬備合適的概念方案。

發展效益

把合適的活動移到地底進行,可以騰出珍貴的地面資源。

在地面可供發展土地短缺的情形下,岩洞可提供所需空間容納一些較難找到合適地面土地的設施(例如維修站、污水處理廠和靈灰安置所),以及設置一些適合置於穩定而又安全的地下環境的設施(例如檔案館、貨倉、測試實驗所和數據中心),從而減少佔用土地。

另外,地下採石場有潛力綜合發展成為岩洞土地儲備。透過適當規劃和設計,地下採石場所創造的岩洞空間可用作設置不同種類的公共或私營設施。

發展地下空間可構建地下連接網絡,改善擠迫地區的連通度及地面的行人環境。例如市區鄰近港鐵車站的大型公園及休憩用地,便具發展淺層地下空間的機遇,接駁車站及其他設施。這既可增加行人空間,加強地區的連繫,亦有助紓緩路面擠迫的問題。

如公眾接受及在個別地區情況許可下,進行地下空間發展亦可提供額外的空間,以容納適當的社區及文娛康樂設施、在缺乏地面空間的地方提供有蓋的公共空間、提供空間作零售及其他商業活動,或用作其他用途,以補足甚至提升現有的市區環境。

  • 外國的經驗顯示,岩洞的應用可涵蓋多種用途,例如:(1)社區及康樂設施(體育中心、游泳綜合場館);(2)貯存設施(檔案館、食品/葡萄酒貯存、油庫、石油氣庫);(3)商業及工業設施(數據中心、物流/貨倉、維修站);(4)特定設施(例如靈灰安置所、測試實驗所)。

發展成本

岩洞發展的建造成本視乎選址的地形情況、地質條件,以及環境限制等因素而定。假如選址的地質情況較複雜和環境限制較大,可能需要較多的鞏固工程和環境紓緩措施,建造成本亦會相應提高。此外,岩洞的設計高度、大小、結構布局等須因應擬搬進岩洞內的設施的需要而定,並且直接影響岩洞結構、通行隧道,以及岩洞內的建築設施和屋宇裝備的建造費用。

就每平方米地面面積的造價成本而言,岩洞發展可能是最昂貴的土地發展方案(較近岸填海的成本可高出幾倍)。

  • 以搬遷沙田污水處理廠往岩洞為例,發展岩洞工程連同相關基建工程的成本粗略估算為每平方米208,000元。
  • 若只計算岩洞工程(岩洞的高度由15米至25米不等),發展成本粗略估算為每平方米77,000元。

地下空間方面,一般而言開發成本同樣較為昂貴。相對於地面構築物/設施,設置於地下空間的構築物及設施往往涉及較高昂的運作、管理和維修保養成本。

地下空間發展須處理的各種技術和實施問題,例如消防、土地業權和城市規劃事宜、與現有地下設施(例如鐵路車站)的連接、對地面設施的影響,以及高昂的發展成本等。

挑戰和不確定性

岩洞發展成本高昂,推展需時。個別岩洞項目的發展成本會因地點、岩土條件、環境因素及特定的土地用途不同而有所變化。

岩洞發展很大機會涉及一些法定程序(例如《環境影響評估條例》、《郊野公園條例》、《城市規劃條例》等),加上建造工程受項目的規模和技術複雜性影響,一個岩洞項目由構想至實現可能需時10年至15年。以同一時限和成本而言,岩洞方案可創造的土地空間可能遠少於其他土地供應方案(例如更改土地用途、填海)。

岩洞發展不能即時解決可發展土地短缺的迫切問題,尤其是在岩洞內的地下用地並不適合作住宅用途。因此,岩洞發展的定位是一種長遠的土地供應來源。

要發展地下空間,首先要妥善處理有關土地用途規劃、工程(包括現有地下管線對工程的障礙、工程對地面設施的影響等)、實施與財務安排,以及維修管理責任等問題。此外,在市區進行地下空間發展往往受制於現有都市環境的各種限制(包括可供發展用地數目和發展規模等)。

發展地下空間面對的挑戰還包括:在施工期間對現有地面設施可能造成的影響、為配合地下空間發展而須設置的地面構築物所佔用的地面空間,以及對交通、人流和周圍環境的影響,及高昂的發展成本等。

要點

  1. 在可發展土地短缺的情形下,岩洞和地下空間這些隱藏的土地資源可為合適的公共或基建設施提供所需空間,支援部分地面設施的遷置及減少佔用土地,而騰出的地面土地可改作房屋或其他有效益的用途,長遠而言間接增加地面發展的空間。
  2. 岩洞和地下空間發展成本高昂,推展需時,而所提供的空間一般並不適合作住宅用途,未必適合作高密度發展的土地供應來源。