Skip to main content

Conceptual Option
Relocation of Kwai Tsing Container Terminals

Topside Development of Kwai Tsing Container Terminals

Kwai Tsing Container Terminals

The Kwai Tsing Container Terminals (KTCTs) are the major sea port facility of Hong Kong. As the fifth busiest container port in the world, Hong Kong Port (HKP) handled 20.8 million twenty-foot equivalent units of container throughput in 2017, of which close to 80% was handled by KTCTs.

Located on the waterfronts of Kwai Chung, Tsing Yi and Stonecutters Island, KTCTs comprise nine terminals which are run commercially by five private operators under separate land leases. The nine terminals provide 24 ocean berths and altogether take up 279 ha of land. In the immediate vicinity of KTCTs, another 100 ha of land is primarily used for port back-up purposes. This land is mainly let out on short term tenancies (STTs) to operators for container vehicle parking and container storage/cargo handling to support the terminal operations.

Benefits of Development

There have been suggestions that the terminals should be relocated to other parts of the city to offer a chance to modernise and upgrade the port infrastructure, while at the same time freeing up the land at the existing terminals for other purposes to meet Hong Kong's other development needs.

The relocation proposal would free up some 380 ha of land in a prime urban location for other uses.

This can create an opportunity to enhance the port facilities, reconfigure the layout of the terminals to achieve greater efficiency, and provide enough berths and yard space for accommodating mega-vessels and handling trans-shipment cargo. These developments would help maintain Hong Kong's long-term competitiveness as a cargo hub.

Alternatively, it has also been suggested that if it is difficult to pursue the relocation of KTCTs, housing units can be built above the terminals by constructing elevated platforms, such that existing port operations can be maintained while the land they occupy can be utilised more optimally.

Costs of Development

If such a plan, be it relocating KTCTs or topside development over the terminals, is to be taken forward, the development costs involved would include land resumption, compensation and relocation costs (with reclamation quite possibly required to relocate the terminals); site formation (or the cost of constructing an elevated platform if topside development on the existing site is the preferred option); and supporting infrastructure facility costs including roads, navigation channels, water supply, sewage, drainage and flood control.

A detailed assessment on the economic and financial viability of the relocation proposal would need to be carried out to ascertain its cost-effectiveness. Factors to be considered include capital investment for possible land resumption/reclamation/site formation and supporting infrastructure facilities; the value of the vacated land; the costs of relocating KTCTs; and the impact of relocation on HKP's competitiveness in the long term. To ensure financial viability, factors need to be considered include the lease conditions of the new terminal, revenue from the operations of the new terminal, operating and labour costs, the market situation, the overall business environment, competition from neighbouring ports and the prospects of the container and port industries.

Challenges and Uncertainties

The 279 ha of land occupied by KTCTs is private land under separate land leases. If the KTCTs is to be redeveloped before 2047, i.e. the expiry of the land leases, it is necessary to secure an agreement with the lessees concerned on the proposal, including the value of the land.

For the port back-up land occupying some 100 ha outside the boundaries of KTCTs, whilst the Government has the right to terminate these STTs for long-term development, it should be noted that port back-up land is an integral part of port operations. Therefore the land should be considered in a holistic manner when planning for the relocation of KTCTs.

The key to the relocation proposal is the viability of securing a replacement site, which must be able to meet the industry's needs and evolving mode of operations. For example, the site has to be surrounded by waters deep enough to allow mega-vessels to berth, and must have good access to a deep marine channel. Each berth should have a length of no less than 400 metres and 25 ha of yard space to support terminal operations. Good connectivity of road transport linking the east and west coasts of the Pearl River Delta is also required. With reference to international port operation needs and situations, it is estimated that a relatively sizeable plot of land would be required to relocate the terminals, which might necessitate reclamation.

Currently, KTCTs operate around the clock and all year round. It would be of paramount importance to ensure a seamless transition in the port relocation process, such that port operations would not be compromised.

Relocation of KTCTs would require large scale and in-depth research. Planning and implementation of the relocation cannot be completed within a short period of time, given the possible reclamation involved and construction of new infrastructure facilities. In addition, consensus among relevant stakeholders and the community would be necessary. The relocation proposal can therefore be seen only as an option for long-term port development and land supply option.

In the case of topside development above KTCTs, this proposal can only be taken forward on the condition that terminal operations would not be affected. It can be expected that complex technical requirements and mitigation measures would be involved, and detailed studies would need to be carried out to look into the proposal's feasibility and cost-effectiveness. A number of potential concerns would also need to be considered carefully, including the development rights of the existing privately owned land; the impact on the operations of the terminals and the port's competitiveness; the compatibility of topside development with the neighbouring environment; and the impact on traffic, the environment (including air, noise and glare) and the visual setting. It would also be subject to the rezoning procedure under the Town Planning Ordinance (Cap. 131).

Key Points

  1. Container terminal operations are an important part of Hong Kong's economic development. The port sector employs 2.2% of Hong Kong's working population and underpins the trading and logistics sector. Due consideration to the impact on terminal operations and Hong Kong's economy would have to be given when considering any suggestion to change the land use of container terminals to increase land supply.
  2. The proposal for relocating KTCTs or constructing an elevated platform over the existing terminals to allow topside development would present considerable technical challenges, and large-scale in-depth research would be needed. Even if the proposal is to be taken forward, it could only be seen as a land supply option for the longer term.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

概念性選項
重置葵青貨櫃碼頭
葵青貨櫃碼頭上蓋發展

葵青貨櫃碼頭

葵青貨櫃碼頭是香港主要的港口設施。香港港口是全球第五繁忙的貨櫃港口,2017年的貨櫃吞吐量達2,080萬個標準貨櫃單位,當中接近八成由葵青貨櫃碼頭處理。

葵青貨櫃碼頭位處葵涌、青衣和昂船洲的海旁地帶,共設9個碼頭,分別由5個私人營辦商按不同的土地契約以商業模式營運。9個碼頭現提供24個遠洋船泊位,佔地合共279公頃;另外,圍繞碼頭範圍約有100公頃土地主要用作港口後勤用途。該等用地大部分以短期租約形式出租予營運商,供貨櫃車停泊和貨櫃存放/貨物處理之用,以支援碼頭運作。

發展效益

有建議將位處市區的碼頭遷移至其他位置,藉以更新並提升港口基建設施,同時可於碼頭原址騰出土地作其他用途,以應付香港的發展需求。

重置方案可騰出位於市區中心位置約380公頃的土地作其他用途。

遷移葵青貨櫃碼頭至其他位置,可提供契機以提升港口基建設施,以及重新設計碼頭布局,使碼頭運作更具效率,並提供足夠泊位和貨櫃堆場空間供大型船隻靠泊及處理轉運貨物,從而維持香港貨運樞紐的長遠競爭力。

另有建議指若搬遷貨櫃碼頭難以實行,可考慮在碼頭上蓋加建平台以興建房屋,使現有港口得以繼續運作,同時更有效善用碼頭現有用地。

發展成本

若落實重置/搬遷葵青貨櫃碼頭或在碼頭上蓋建屋的計劃,發展成本將涉及收地、補償及重置費用(而很大可能需填海以重置碼頭);土地平整費用(若屬碼頭上蓋發展,則包括地基高架平台建造費用);基建支援設施費用(道路、航道、供水、排污、排水及防洪措施等)。

在重置方案的經濟及財務可行性方面,須詳細評估以確保計劃是具成本效益。經濟可行性的考慮因素包括可能需要收回土地、填海、平整土地及建設配套基建設施的資本投資、有關騰空用地的價值、重置碼頭的成本,以及重置碼頭對香港港口競爭力的長遠影響。財務可行性考慮因素則包括新碼頭的批租條件、經營新碼頭所得的業務收益、經營成本及勞工成本、市場狀況、整體營商環境、周邊地區的競爭及貨櫃航運與港口業的前景等。

挑戰和不確定性

現時葵青貨櫃碼頭279公頃土地屬以不同土地契約持有的私人土地。若要在相關契約在2047年期滿前重新發展有關用地,須先與土地業權人就方案達成共識(包括有關土地的價值)。

就碼頭範圍外約100公頃的港口後勤用地,雖然政府有權終止相關短期租約作長遠發展,然而這些用地是港口作業重要的一部分,在規劃重置葵青貨櫃碼頭時應一併考慮。

重置方案的關鍵是找到一個合適的重置位置,能夠應付行業需求及營運模式,例如新碼頭及航道的水深必須足以讓大型船舶停泊及船隻往來,每個泊位長度不少於400米及需提供25公頃的貨櫃堆場,以支持碼頭作業,以及有便利的陸路交通連接珠三角的東岸和西岸。參考現時國際間碼頭運作的要求及情況,估計新碼頭用地面積需求較大,很大可能要填海以重置碼頭。

現時葵青貨櫃碼頭每天24小時運作無休,重置方案必須確保新舊碼頭無縫交接,且不影響港口運作。

由於搬遷貨櫃碼頭需要大型及深入的研究工作,而規劃及實施搬遷計劃(例如填海及建造基礎建設)並非短時間內可以完成,必須取得社會及相關持份者的共識,因此方案只能視作為一個長遠的港口發展及土地供應選項考慮。

發展碼頭上蓋方面,需確保碼頭的持續運作不受影響,發展預計會涉及複雜的技術問題及緩解措施,須仔細研究其可行性和成本效益;同時亦應小心審視多項潛在問題,包括現有碼頭私人用地的發展權、對碼頭運作及港口競爭力的影響、上蓋發展與四周環境的相容性、對附近交通、環境(包括空氣、噪音和眩光)及景觀方面的影響等,並需經過《城市規劃條例》(第131章)的改劃程序。

要點

  1. 貨櫃碼頭作為本港經濟發展的重要一部分,港口業僱用全港2.2%的勞動人口,並支持貿易及物流業的發展。在考慮任何改變現有貨櫃碼頭用地以增加土地供應的建議時,應審慎研究其對碼頭運作及香港經濟的影響。
  2. 搬遷貨櫃碼頭及在碼頭上蓋加建平台的建議所面對的技術挑戰相當大,必須進行大型及深入的研究工作。即使建議會落實,亦只能作為一個較長遠的土地供應選項。