Skip to main content

Medium to Long Term Option
Developing Two Pilot Areas on the Periphery of Country Parks
Conceptual Option
Developing More Areas on the Periphery of Country Parks

Can the Land on the Periphery of Country Parks be Developed for the Provision of Public Housing and Public Facilities?

There are currently a total of 24 country parks in Hong Kong, covering about 40% of Hong Kong's total area. Most are located in remote rural areas, with about 55% encompassing water catchment areas including natural landscapes and natural habitats of ecological value with steep slopes, woodlands and valleys without much flat land. There is also a lack of necessary infrastructure needed for large-scale development such as roads, water supply and drainage systems.

Benefits of Development

Country parks, with social and ecological values, are precious asset of Hong Kong as a city with good liveability. In his 2017 Policy Address, the then Chief Executive stated that, while increasing the total area of ecological conservation sites and country parks and enhancing their recreational and educational value, the community should also consider allocating a small portion of land on the periphery of country parks with relatively low ecological and public enjoyment value for purposes other than real estate development, such as public housing and non-profit-making elderly homes.

The Government does not have a comprehensive database on the ecological status of each and every country park. There is also no precise information on how much land in country parks has relatively low public enjoyment value. As such, there is no estimate of potentially developable land area or estimate of housing units that could be built on their periphery. Arithmetically (and purely for illustration purpose), 0.1% of the country park area would be equivalent to over 40 ha of land. Based on the estimated flat yield for the Kwu Tung North and Fanling North NDAs, 0.1% of country park area might yield some 7,500 flats.

Similar ideas were floated in 2015, when commentators suggested releasing certain areas on the periphery of Tai Lam Country Park close to the Tai Lam Tunnel toll plaza for housing development. It was said that about 60 ha of platform area could be formed to provide homes for about 90,000 residents. Hong Kong Housing Society (HKHS) is conducting ecological and technical studies on developing the periphery of country parks. The studies will mainly look into the two pilot areas' ecological, landscape and aesthetic value; recreational and development potential; and the major technical factors and constraints of developing public housing and other public facilities thereon.

  • In May 2017, the last-term Government invited HKHS to undertake ecological and technical studies on land on the periphery of country parks. The purpose is facilitate rational deliberations by the community about the possibility of allocating a small portion of land on the periphery of the country parks with relatively low ecological and public enjoyment value for purposes other than real estate development, such as public housing and non-profit-making elderly homes.
  • The scope of studies would cover two pilot areas in Tai Lam and Shui Chuen O (each covering an area of approximately 20 ha). These areas are on the periphery of Tai Lam and Ma On Shan Country Parks respectively.

Costs of Development

Developing any part of the country parks for housing purposes is not compatible with the existing uses of country parks and is against the objectives of having country parks in the first place. If the integrity of country parks is affected, its ecological and public enjoyment value may be undermined. If handled improperly, irreversible changes will be made to the natural ecology, landscape and recreational potential.

Regardless of the size of the proposed developments in country parks, there is a need to carry out environmental studies, including ecological assessments, for any proposal to develop country parks as the starting point to confirm if the site concerned is suitable for development. If there is a need to revise the boundary of country parks, it must be subject to the statutory procedures as stipulated in the Country Parks Ordinance (Cap. 208) and Environmental Impact Assessment Ordinance (Cap. 499), including consulting the Country and Marine Parks Board and the Advisory Council on the Environment and seeking necessary consent from the Country and Marine Parks Authority before implementation.

The corresponding site formation, infrastructure and building works within country parks would be subject to the endorsement of Environmental Impact Assessments (EIAs) before commencement of construction. Detailed ecological surveys covering seasonal variations would be required as part of the statutory EIAs so as to ascertain whether each proposal is acceptable from nature conservation and ecological perspectives. The whole ecological survey might take at least 12 to 18 months (covering both dry and wet seasons). In addition to the requirements under the statutory EIA, any possible impact on the existing recreation facilities and associated potential, hence the public enjoyment value of the relevant sites, should also be thoroughly assessed in support of the proposal.

Development on the periphery of country parks, if confirmed, would involve the costs of land formation and providing infrastructural facilities such as roads, drainage, sewage and flood control measures. The proposed land use would also be subject to relevant statutory procedure according to the Town Planning Ordinance (Cap. 131).

From the engineering perspective, in considering the scope of country parks for development, important considerations include:
  1. the impact on existing infrastructure (including sewerage, drainage, water supply, and transport networks);

  2. geotechnical concerns (including site formation in hilly terrain and prevention of natural terrain hazards);

  3. potential impact on existing water catchments/ diversion channels and major above-ground or underground utilities (such as underground water tunnels and overhead transmission lines).

Challenges and Uncertainties

Land resumption or the relocation of existing households or facilities will normally not be necessary when developing country park sites. However, before the commencement of actual construction works such as enhancement of infrastructure and site formation, sufficient time would be required for the Government to conduct comprehensive planning and engineering feasibility studies; undertake several stages of public engagement to solicit the views of stakeholders; and make technical assessments, including traffic and visual impact assessments. In addition, time would be needed to complete the necessary statutory and other processes related to country parks, environmental impact, town planning and infrastructure, as well as funding applications to the LegCo. Even if the development plan is confirmed, it will likely take no less than 10 years for the planning and land development processes. As such, this option can only be a source of land supply in the long term.

The suggestion of developing the periphery of country parks has triggered debates amongst different stakeholders in the community. There have been suggestions that the Government should first use land with relatively low ecological and public enjoyment value as a source of land supply. Some have suggested a compensation mechanism to make up for any loss of country park areas and facilities so as to strike a right balance between development and conservation. Meanwhile, some are opposed to any form of development in country parks.

Key Points

  1. Whether to develop the periphery of certain country parks with low ecological and public enjoyment value for public housing and other public uses will hinge on a number of detailed studies and assessments on ecology, environment, development feasibility and development potential. At this stage, the community should discuss whether or not developing part of the country park land to increase land supply is an issue worth exploring and what factors should be considered during the process.
  2. In considering whether to change any part of the country parks to serve as a possible source of land supply, the community should prudently strike a balance between the needs of development and conservation.
  3. Even if developing part of the land of country parks is eventually considered to be one of the acceptable land supply options, relevant statutory requirements must be fully complied with prior to proceeding with development, including relevant legislations on country parks, town planning, environmental impact and infrastructure provisions. The Government will also need to consult relevant committees and other stakeholders. Hence, this can only be considered a land supply option for the long term.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

中長期選項
發展郊野公園邊陲地帶兩個試點
概念性選項
發展郊野公園邊陲地帶其他地點

可否發展郊野公園邊陲地帶作公營房屋及公共設施用途?

現時全港共有24個郊野公園,佔香港土地總面積約40%,大部分均位處偏遠郊區,其中約55%為集水區,包含大量陡峭山坡、林地、幽谷等天然地貌及具生態價值的自然生境,平地不多,缺乏大型發展所需的基建設施如公路、供水及排污系統等。

發展效益

郊野公園是香港作為宜居城市的珍貴資產,具有社會及生態價值。在2017年1月發表的《施政報告》中,時任行政長官表示在增加生態保育及郊野公園土地總面積,以及提升其康樂及教育價值的同時,社會人士應該思考利用郊野公園內小量生態價值不高、公眾享用價值較低、位於邊陲地帶的土地作公營房屋、非牟利的安老院舍等非地產用途。

現時政府仍未備存有關每個郊野公園生態狀況的完備資料庫,亦未有郊野公園內公眾享用價值相對較低的土地數量的準確資料。因此現時未能預計郊野公園邊陲地帶的可發展土地面積或可提供的單位數目。數字上(並純粹作解說用途),0.1%的郊野公園範圍大約等同40多公頃的土地。根據古洞北及粉嶺北新發展區估計的可建單位數量,0.1%的郊野公園土地估計可提供約7,500個住宅單位。

早於2015年已有人提議,釋出鄰近大欖隧道收費廣場的大欖郊野公園部分邊陲土地作房屋發展。該建議指於該處可平整約60公頃平台,為約9萬人提供居所。香港房屋協會(下簡稱房協)正進行有關郊野公園邊陲地帶土地的生態及技術研究,主要探討兩個試點的生態、景觀與美觀價值、康樂潛力、發展潛力,以及發展公營房屋和其他公共設施的主要技術因素和實際限制。

  • 上屆政府於2017年5月邀請房協進行有關郊野公園邊陲地帶土地的生態及技術硏究,以提供客觀分析,讓社會可就應否考慮利用郊野公園內小量生態價值不高、公眾享用價值較低、位於邊陲地帶的土地作公營房屋、非牟利的老人院等非地產用途,進行理性討論。
  • 研究範圍包括大欖及水泉澳兩個試點,分別位於大欖郊野公園及馬鞍山郊野公園的邊陲範圍(兩個試點的面積均約為20公頃)。

發展成本

開發郊野公園的任何部分作房屋發展,與郊野公園的現有用途並不協調,有違當初設立郊野公園的目標。若郊野公園的完整性受到影響,其生態價值及公眾享用價值可能會受損;如處理不當,會造成自然生態、景觀及康樂潛力方面不可逆轉的改變。

任何涉及郊野公園土地的發展建議,無論所涉面積多少,均須先進行環境研究(包括生態評估),以確定有關用地是否合適。如需改劃郊野公園界線,要經過《郊野公園條例》(第208章)及《環境影響評估條例》(第499章)的法定程序,包括須諮詢郊野公園及海岸公園委員會和環境諮詢委員會,並在取得郊野公園及海岸公園管理局的同意後方可進行。

郊野公園範圍內的相關土地平整、基建及建築工程,亦需要在開展工程前通過環境評估的程序;當中的法定環境評估需進行包括季節性調查在內的詳盡生態調查,務求確定個別項目在自然保育/生態角度均屬可以接受。完成整個生態調查需時至少12個至18個月(同時涵蓋雨季及旱季)。除法定環境評估的要求外,任何對現存康樂設施和康樂發展潛力,以及有關用地的公眾享用價值的影響,亦須全面評估。

若落實發展郊野公園邊陲的土地,發展成本將涉及土地平整和基建設施(道路、水務、排污、防洪措施等),發展用途亦要經過《城市規劃條例》(第131章)的法定程序。

從工程角度而言,在考慮發展合適的郊野公園範圍時,以下各項為重要考慮因素:
  1. 有關發展對現有基建設施的影響(包括排污設備、排水系統、供水系統、運輸網絡)。

  2. 土力工程方面的考慮(包括在山勢起伏的地形進行土地平整工程,以及天然山坡危害)。

  3. 對現有集水區/引水道及主要地面/地下公用設施(例如地下輸水隧道、架空電纜)的潛在影響。

挑戰和不確定性

儘管發展郊野公園一般毋須進行收地或重置現有住戶或設施,然而在展開實際工程(例如基建提升及土地平整)前,政府須進行全面的規劃及工程可行性研究;多個階段的公眾參與以收集持份者意見;各種技術評估,包括交通及視覺影響評估;有關郊野公園、環境影響、城市規劃及基建建設的法定程序及其他必要程序;以及向立法會申請撥款。即使能夠落實發展,規劃及土地開發過程預期需時至少10年,因此只可在長期提供土地。

發展郊野公園邊陲地帶的建議引起了社會不同持份者的爭論。有意見認為,政府應先採納生態及公眾享用價值相對較低的地點作土地供應來源。部分人士建議訂立補償機制以補足任何郊野公園土地及設施的損失,務求在發展與保育之間取得適當平衡。也有意見反對任何模式的郊野公園發展。

要點

  1. 是否發展個別郊野公園生態及公眾享用價值不高的邊陲用地作公營房屋及其他公共用途,必須視乎很多有關生態、環境、發展可行性及發展潛力等詳細研究及評估。社會現階段應討論開發部分郊野公園土地以增加土地供應是否一個可以探討的課題,而探討的過程可留意哪些因素。
  2. 社會在考慮是否應該改變郊野公園的任何部分以作為一個可能的土地供應選項時,必須審慎平衡發展與保育的需要。
  3. 即使最終認為部分郊野公園土地可作為土地供應選項之一,在進行發展之前仍須符合相關的法定要求,包括與郊野公園、城市規劃、環境影響及基建建設等相關法例,政府亦須諮詢相關委員會及其他持份者,因此只可視為長遠的土地供應選項。