Skip to main content

Medium to Long Term Option
More New Development Areas in the New Territories

New Town Development

Since the 1970s, the Government has developed nine new towns, namely Tsuen Wan (including Kwai Chung and Tsing Yi), Sha Tin (including Ma On Shan), Tuen Mun, Tai Po, Fanling/Sheung Shui, Yuen Long, Tin Shui Wai, Tseung Kwan O and Tung Chung, in total amounting to about 17,000 ha of land area. Close to half of Hong Kong's population (about 3.5 million) live in new towns.

To ensure a steady and sizeable supply of land in the medium to long term, the Government has been taking forward New Development Areas (NDAs) and new town extension projects. These projects are all in the NT, including Tung Chung New Town Extension (TCNTE); Kwu Tung North (KTN)/Fanling North (FLN) NDAs; Hung Shui Kiu (HSK) NDA; Yuen Long South development area; and NT North (NTN), which is subject to further study. They are hereafter collectively referred to as "NDA Projects".

These NDA Projects are all comprehensive, large-scale land developments, while Tung Chung will have a new town extension primarily by way of reclamation. Except for NTN, they have mostly completed the planning and engineering study process, or are at the detailed design stage. Among them, KTN/FLN, HSK and Yuen Long South developments will involve converting sizeable brownfield sites, abandoned farmland and squatter areas into high-density development through comprehensive planning. These NDA Projects involve about a total area of 2,521 ha, representing 2.3% of Hong Kong's total land area.

Benefits of Development

Through comprehensive and integrated planning, NDA Projects such as KTN/FLN, HSK and Yuen Long South can optimise the use of land resources, promote high-density development, facilitate the rationalisation of land use incompatibility issues in the rural NT, and improve the rural environment. For the TCNTE project, obtaining land through reclamation can reduce the uncertainties arising from impacts on the existing households and operators.

The NDA Projects in Tung Chung, KTN/FLN, HSK and Yuen Long South are among the major planned sources of Hong Kong's land supply in the medium to long term. It is expected that close to 200,000 housing units can be provided between 2023 and 2038 under these projects, supplying homes for almost 580,000 people. Over 860,000 square metres of industrial and commercial floor space will also be built, creating about 240,000 employment opportunities. These NDA Projects will optimise economic, industrial, commercial and tourism potential in these areas. The potential land supply of these projects has been taken into account in deriving the estimated land supply over the next 30 years under the "Hong Kong 2030+" study.

NTN is one of the two Strategic Growth Areas beyond 2030 proposed under the "Hong Kong 2030+" study. The "Preliminary Feasibility Study on Developing the New Territories North" put forward three areas with development potential, namely the San Tin/Lok Ma Chau development node, Man Kam To logistics corridor and the NTN new town which includes Hung Lung Hang, Heung Yuen Wai, Ping Che, Ta Kwu Ling and Queen's Hill. These areas can provide a total developable area of around 720 ha; this can accommodate a population of 255,000 or 350,000 and provide over 210,000 employment opportunities. As the NTN development is still at a conceptual stage, it was not included in the land supply estimate of 3,600 ha under "Hong Kong 2030+".

NDA Projects can help resolve brownfields issues in a more cost-efficient manner, providing an opportunity to consolidate brownfield operations. For example, three development projects in KTN/FLN, HSK and Yuen Long South together cover 340 ha of brownfield sites. Another 200 ha of brownfield sites can be released through the development of NTN.

Costs of Development

For the NDA Projects that involve developing existing land, a substantial amount of time and cost will be required for land resumption, compensation, replacement and site formation, which may require decontamination works. A large number of transport, infrastructure and community facilities will also be needed. The Tung Chung project will require reclamation to create new land.

Apart from brownfield operators, NDA Projects that involve the development of existing land will also inevitably affect the existing users of the land concerned, including residents, farmers and business operators. Some of the existing houses and facilities may have to be demolished, which will affect residents' daily lives and their original community bonding. It is expected that three development projects in KTN/FLN, HSK and Yuen Long South will together affect around 3,600 households.

Challenges and Uncertainties

Large-scale comprehensive planning involves detailed planning and engineering studies, as well as multiple-stage community engagement. For NDA Projects that involve development of existing land, the entire planning and development process, from the study stage to the first population intake, usually takes at least 15 years. As such, they can only provide land in the medium to long term.

In addition, most of the existing land in the NDA Project areas is privately owned, including the collectively owned land by Tso/Tong. Even if there is authority under relevant legislations to resume the private land for development of public purpose, the resumption process will be lengthy, and large-scale clearance will be involved.

  • Take KTN/FLN NDAs as an example, the affected area within the development areas totals around 320 ha, among which 182 ha is private land, involving around 1,500 households, 50 ha of which is brownfield land, and 28 ha is farmland.
  • For HSK NDA, the total affected area amounts to around 441 ha, including some 324 ha of private land; the main affected occupants are estimated to be over 300 brownfield operators, 1,600 households and farmers of 7 ha of farmland, as well as the users of the low-rise industrial buildings in Kiu Tau Wai.

Besides brownfield operators, the development projects will affect a number of residents, farmers and business operators. Some of those affected by the clearance process will request "no relocation, no demolition" or will ask for a decanting site for resettlement purpose. Some affected persons, who may be dissatisfied with the existing or special compensation and rehousing arrangement, may hold out for a better arrangement. As a result, more time will be required for clearance and land resumption process, which may have a direct bearing on the overall implementation timetable.

For reclamation-based NDA Projects, large-scale reclamation will raise concerns about environmental conservation and fisheries issues.

Key Points

  1. Since the 1970s, the Government has developed nine new towns, providing a large amount of land for comprehensive development. The Government strives to continue pursuing NDA projects in Tung Chung, KTN/FLN, HSK and Yuen Long South to ensure that a steady and sizeable land supply can be provided in the medium to long term.
  2. NDA Projects that involve the conversion of existing land can be used for higher-density development, optimising the use of land resources, facilitating the rationalisation of land use incompatibility issues in the rural NT (including brownfield sites), and improving the rural environment. For reclamation-based NDA Projects, the impact and uncertainty of land resumption and relocation arrangements can be minimised.
  3. The entire planning and development process for NDA Projects usually requires at last 15 years for the first population intake.
  4. Unlike reclamation, NDA Projects that involve developing the existing land require land resumption, compensation, rehousing and reprovisioning arrangements. A substantial number of residents, farmers and business operators will be affected, which necessitate a longer period of time for the planning process.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

中長期選項
於新界發展更多新發展區

新市鎮發展

1970年代起,政府建設了9個新市鎮,分別為荃灣(包括葵涌和青衣)、沙田(包括馬鞍山)、屯門、大埔、粉嶺/上水、元朗、天水圍、將軍澳及東涌,合共佔地約17,000公頃。香港近一半的人口(約350萬人)居於新市鎮。

為確保可於中長期提供穩定而大量的土地供應,政府致力推展新發展區及新市鎮擴展項目。這些項目全部位於新界,包括東涌新市鎮擴展、古洞北/粉嶺北新發展區、洪水橋新發展區、元朗南發展及仍須進一步研究的新界北(以下統稱為「新發展區項目」)。

上述新發展區項目為綜合的大型土地開發及發展工程。東涌主要透過填海造地擴展現有新市鎮。除了新界北外,其餘已完成規劃及工程研究或已進入詳細設計階段。當中古洞北/粉嶺北、洪水橋及元朗南的發展將會把大片棕地、棄耕農地及寮屋區,透過綜合規劃改作高密度發展用途。這些新發展區項目的總面積約有2,521公頃(佔香港土地總面積約2.3%)。

發展效益

透過綜合及全面的規劃,新發展區項目(如古洞北/粉嶺北、洪水橋及元朗南)可善用土地資源及推動高密度發展,並協助理順新界鄉郊土地用途不協調問題,改善鄉郊環境;而透過填海獲取土地的東涌擴展項目則可減少因影響現有住戶及作業者所帶來的不確定性。

東涌、古洞北/粉嶺北、洪水橋及元朗南項目是香港中至長期土地供應的主要來源之一。這些項目預計可於2023年至2038年間提供接近20萬個房屋單位,為接近58萬人提供家園;亦會興建超過860萬平方米工商業樓面,提供約24萬個就業機會,並優化區內經濟、工商業及旅遊潛力。《香港2030+》研究在推算未來30年的土地供應時,已考慮了上述新發展區項目的供應。

新界北則是《香港2030+》提出跨越2030年的兩個策略增長區之一。《發展新界北部地區初步可行性研究》提出了區內3個具發展潛力地區,包括新田/落馬洲發展樞紐、文錦渡物流走廊及由恐龍坑、香園圍、坪輋、打鼓嶺及皇后山組成的新界北新市鎮,發展面積約720公頃,可容納人口25.5萬或35萬人,提供約21萬個就業機會。由於仍在概念性階段,新界北發展未計入《香港2030+》估算的約3,600公頃土地供應。

新發展區項目可較具成本效益地處理棕地問題,為整合棕地作業提供契機。例如古洞北/粉嶺北、洪水橋及元朗南3個發展項目便涵蓋約340公頃棕地;發展新界北亦可釋出約200公頃棕地。

發展成本

涉及開發現有土地的新發展區項目,需要大量時間及成本進行收地、補償、重置及土地平整(或須包括土地除污工程),亦需要提供大量交通、基建及社區配套設施。東涌項目則須填海造地。

除棕地作業外,開發現有土地的新發展區項目無可避免地影響現有土地使用者,包括居民、農戶及工商業經營者等。在過程中,須清拆部分居所/設施,影響居民的生活及原來的社區連繫。現時估計古洞北/粉嶺北、洪水橋及元朗南3個發展項目將共影響約3,600個住戶。

挑戰和不確定性

大規模的綜合規劃牽涉詳細的規劃及工程研究,以及多階段的社區參與。就需要開發現有土地的新發展區項目而言,整個規劃及發展過程由研究階段至讓居民開始遷入通常需要最少15年,因此只可在中至長期提供土地。

開發現有土地為主的新發展區項目,區內大部分土地為私人擁有(包括集體擁有的祖/堂地),若要行使法例所賦予的權力收回私人土地作公共發展用途,過程冗長,亦需要較大規模的清拆工作。

  • 以古洞北/粉嶺北新發展區為例,在發展區範圍內受工程影響的範圍約320公頃,涉及約182公頃私人土地,影響約1,500個住戶、50公頃棕地,以及約28公頃常耕農地。
  • 至於洪水橋新發展區,受工程影響的範圍約441公頃,包括約324公頃私人土地,估計受影響佔用人主要包括超過300個棕地作業者、約1,600個住戶、約7公頃常耕農地上的農民,以及橋頭圍的低層工業大廈用戶。

除棕地作業人士外,開發項目會影響不少居民、農戶及工商業經營者等,部分受清拆影響人士要求「不遷不拆」或另撥土地安排遷置,亦有部分人士不滿現行或特設的補償及安置,要求更佳的安排。因此清拆收地過程可能影響推展項目的進度。

以填海為主的新發展區項目方面,大規模填海將引起環境保育及漁業方面的關注。

要點

  1. 1970年代起,政府建設了9個新市鎮,提供大量土地供綜合規劃。政府目前致力推展東涌、古洞北/粉嶺北、洪水橋及元朗南的新發展區項目,確保可於中長期提供穩定而大量的土地供應。
  2. 開發現有土地的新發展區項目可作高密度發展,善用土地資源,並協助理順新界鄉郊土地用途不協調問題(包括棕地),改善鄉郊環境。透過填海造地的新發展區項目則可減少收地及搬遷等安排的影響及不穩定性。
  3. 整個新發展區項目的規劃及發展過程通常需要最少15年,居民才可逐步遷入。
  4. 相對填海,透過開發現有土地的新發展區項目涉及收地、補償、安置及重置安排,會影響不少居民、農戶、工商業經營者等,規劃過程需時較長。