Skip to main content

Conceptual Option
Increasing Development Intensity of "Village Type Development" Zones

What is a "Village Type Development"?

At present, there are around 700 "Village Type Development" ("V") zones as stipulated in statutory town plans. Among them are a total of 642 recognised villages, mostly in the NT.

"V" zones, covering a total area of around 3,380 ha, are primarily intended for development of small houses by indigenous villagers. The development intensity of "V" zones is by nature low. In drawing up "V" zones, the authority will consider a range of planning factors, including the existing villages and Village Environs (VEs), the local topography, the existing settlement pattern, site characteristics and the surrounding environment, environmental constraints, as well as the estimate of demand for small houses in the coming 10 years. The boundaries of "V" zones may not necessarily coincide with those of VEs.

Areas of "Village Type Development" Zones by District Council
(as at end-November 2017)

District Total Area (ha)
Yuen Long District 1,236
North District 503
Tai Po District 448
Sai Kung District 349
Islands District 266
Tuen Mun District 226
Sha Tin District 219
Tsuen Wan District 96
Kwai Tsing District 20
Kwun Tong District 8
Southern District 5
Wong Tai Sin District 1
Total About 3,378

  • The Small House Policy has been in place since 1972. Under the Policy, in general, a male indigenous villager aged 18 or above who is descended through the male line from a resident in 1898 of a recognised village in the NT may apply to the authority for permission to build for himself a small house on a suitable site within his own village once during his lifetime. Each building is restricted to three storeys (8.23 metres (m)), with a roofed-over area not exceeding 65.03 sq. m.
  • In general, the construction of small houses is restricted to areas within the "VE" delineated administratively, as well as the "V" zones as stipulated in statutory town plans, provided that the "V" zones encircle or overlap with the VE. VE refers to the area within a 300-foot radius from the edge of the last Village Type House built in the recognised village before the introduction of the Small House Policy on 1 December 1972.

    Benefits of Development

    While there are over 900 ha of unleased and unallocated Government land within "V" zones

    Unleased and unallocated government land statistics compiled in 2012.

    , a considerable portion of the land involves gaps or passageways between existing small houses, slopes and other fragmented or irregular land parcels. Even if individual land parcels are relatively more complete in shape, their development potential may be limited by factors such as topography, area and infrastructural constraints, making it difficult to combine them with other types of development or large-scale development. Therefore, the land available for further development is limited.

    There have been suggestions that the Government should optimise the land use in "V" zones for housing development, including allowing "high-rise" small house developments to increase their development intensity.

    Costs of Development

    Increasing the development density of these land may change the existing rural setting of indigenous villages.

    For developing the land within "V" zones, major costs would include site formation and supporting infrastructural facilities (roads, water supply, sewage, flood control measures, etc.).

    • To facilitate better planning of village developments and to cater for the housing needs of the indigenous villagers who do not own land, the Government introduced the Village Expansion Area (VEA) scheme in 1981. Under this scheme, the Government formed suitable sites on government land or resumed private land in accordance with village layout plans for eligible villagers to apply for Private Treaty Grants of government land to build small houses. Over the years, the Government developed 36 VEAs for the provision of around 2,000 small house sites, out of which close to 1,800 small house grants were executed. The VEA scheme has been frozen since 1999, pending review of the Small House Policy.

    Given the scattered and irregular parcels of land within "V" zones, extensive land resumption and clearance would be inevitable in order to realise the full development potential of the area, involving compensation and rehousing for eligible land owners and households in the villages.

    Challenges and Uncertainties

    Upzoning and transformation of "V" zones, if pursued, would require detailed studies and assessments to confirm all aspects of its feasibility. Coupled with the necessary statutory processes of rezoning, road gazettal and environmental impact assessment, the proposed conversion of "V" zones would likely take at least 10 years to complete. Any proposal on upzoning/ transformation of "V" zones to the extent of releasing land for alternative uses should be considered in the light of the result of Small House Policy Review.

    There are views suggesting that the Government should review the Small House Policy, having regard to the prevailing circumstances of Hong Kong. The existing Small House Policy has been in operation for a long period of time. Any review will inevitably involve complicated issues in areas such as the law, environment, housing, land use planning and demand for land, all of which require careful examination. Any proposed change to the Small House Policy will likely be a subject of intense debate and controversy that will take time to resolve.

    In addition, given that the Small House Policy is currently subject to a judicial review, the Task Force is of the view that it is not in a position to make any public comment on issues that may prejudice the Government's handling of the case.

    Key Points

    1. "V" zones are intended for indigenous villagers to build small houses (restricted to three storeys (8.23m)). The overall development intensity is relatively low to reflect the rural setting of indigenous villages. Changing the land use for high density development would be subject to certain constraints.
    2. Amongst the unleased and unallocated Government land within "V" zones, a considerable portion of the land involves gaps or passageways between existing small houses, slopes and other fragmented or irregular land parcels, rendering them unsuitable for large-scale development.
    3. For redeveloping the land within "V" zones and rezoning for higher-density housing or other purposes, major costs would involve onsite formation and supporting infrastructural facilities. If relocating or re-establishment of recognised villages is involved, there would be land resumption, compensation and re-establishment costs. It would also call into question whether a similar amount of land is required for relocation or re-establishing those villages, thus leading to a zero-sum game in terms of land supply.
    4. There have been suggestions that small houses should be allowed to appropriately raise their development intensity for higher-rise development for better use of the same amount of land, while taking into account the needs of indigenous villagers.
    | Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

概念性選項
增加「鄉村式發展」地帶的
發展密度

何謂鄉村式發展?

現時全港法定規劃圖則上約有700個劃為「鄉村式發展」地帶,當中主要覆蓋642條認可鄉村,大部分位於新界各區。

「鄉村式發展」地帶總面積約3,380公頃,主要供原居村民興建小型屋宇之用。「鄉村式發展」地帶本質上屬低密度發展。劃訂「鄉村式發展」地帶時,當局會考慮一系列規劃因素,包括現有的鄉村和「認可鄉村範圍」、當區地形、現有民居的分布、用地的特點及周邊的狀況、環境方面的限制,以及預計未來10年的小型屋宇需求。「鄉村式發展」地帶的邊界未必與「認可鄉村範圍」一致。

按區議會分區劃分的「鄉村式發展」地帶面積
(截至2017年11底的情況)

區域 總面積(公頃)
元朗區 1,236
北區 503
大埔區 448
西貢區 349
離島區 266
屯門區 226
沙田區 219
荃灣區 96
葵青區 20
觀塘區 8
南區 5
黃大仙區 1
總計 約3,378

  • 小型屋宇(俗稱丁屋)政策自1972年起實施。在該政策下,一般來說,年滿18歲、父系源自1898年時為香港新界認可鄉村居民的男性原居村民,可以在一生人內向當局申請一次,在其所屬鄉村內的合適土地上建造一所小型屋宇自住。每所屋宇的高度上限為3層(8.23米),而上蓋面積不得超過65.03平方米。
  • 一般而言,小型屋宇的興建限於行政上劃分的「認可鄉村範圍」及法定規劃圖則劃為「鄉村式發展」的地帶內,而該地帶是包圍或與該「認可鄉村範圍」重疊。「認可鄉村範圍」是指在1972年12月1日實施小型屋宇政策之前,在該認可鄉村興建的最後一間鄉村屋之邊緣起計300呎的範圍。

發展效益

位於「鄉村式發展」地帶內有逾900公頃未批租或撥用的政府土地

按2012年編製的未批租或撥用政府土地的統計資料。

,但當中相當部分為現有小型屋宇間的空隙或通道、斜坡,以及其他零碎或形狀不規則地塊。即使個別地塊較為完整,它們的發展受限於地形、地區、基建和其他配套設施等,這些土地難以作其他形式或大規模發展,故此可進一步發展的土地有限。

有意見認為政府應善用位於「鄉村式發展」地帶的土地作房屋發展,包括考慮容許小型屋宇作高層數發展,以提高其發展密度。

發展成本

以更密集式地發展這些土地可能改變現有原住鄉村的鄉郊格局。

若要開發「鄉村式發展」地帶內的土地,主要成本包括土地平整、基建支援設施(道路、水務、排污、防洪措施等)。

  • 為了使鄉村發展有更妥善的規劃和解決沒有土地的原居村民的住屋需要,政府在1981年推行「鄉村擴展區」計劃。在計劃下,政府根據鄉村發展藍圖,在政府土地及收回的私人土地上平整合適的用地,供合資格村民申請,以私人協約方式批出這些政府土地興建小型屋宇。多年來,政府發展了36個「鄉村擴展區」,提供約2,000幅小型屋宇用地,當中批出了近1,800宗小型屋宇批約。「鄉村擴展區」計劃自1999年被凍結,以待小型屋宇政策檢討。

由於「鄉村式發展」地帶內的土地分布零散且大小形狀不一,要完全釋放有關地區的發展潛力,難免要進行大量收回及清理土地工作,並將涉及補償及安置鄉村內合資格土地擁有人及住戶的問題。

挑戰和不確定性

若要提升及改變「鄉村式發展」地帶的用途類別,則必須進行詳盡的研究及評估,以確認各方面的可行性。連同有關用途改劃、道路刊憲及環境影響評估等各項必須的法定程序,建議改劃「鄉村式發展」地帶用途的過程極可能需時至少10年方可完成。任何有關提升/改變「鄉村式發展」地帶類別以釋出土地作其他用途的建議,須配合政府的小型屋宇政策檢討結果加以考慮。

有意見認為,鑑於香港當前情況,政府應當檢討小型屋宇政策。現行的小型屋宇政策行之已久,任何有關檢討無可避免涉及法律、環境、房屋、土地規劃及土地需求等複雜問題,這些問題均須審慎檢視。任何改變小型屋宇政策的建議,均有可能會引發激烈辯論及爭議,需要長時間解決。

此外,小型屋宇政策正面對司法覆核,專責小組認為,現階段不宜就可能影響政府處理該案件的議題作出公開評論。

要點

  1. 「鄉村式發展」地帶的原意主要供原居村民興建小型屋宇(3層為限,最高8.23米),其整體發展密度相對較低,以反映原住鄉村的鄉郊格局,要改變有關用途並作高密度發展有一定的限制。
  2. 現時「鄉村式發展」地帶內未批租或撥用的政府土地,當中相當部分為現有小型屋宇間的空隙或通道、斜坡,及其他零碎或形狀不規則地塊,不適宜作大規模發展。
  3. 若要重新開發「鄉村式發展」地帶內的土地和改劃作高密度房屋或其他用途,主要成本包括土地平整、基建支援設施。若涉及搬遷或重置認可鄉村,則要包括收地、補償及重置費用,亦將引發討論是否需要相若數量的土地作搬遷或重置,從而導致土地供應互相抵銷,淪為一場零和遊戲。
  4. 有意見認為應容許小型屋宇適量提高發展密度以作較高層發展,從而更善用同等數量的土地,同時達到顧及原居村民的需要的政策目標。