Skip to main content

Short to Medium Term Option
Tapping into the Private Agricultural Land Reserve in the New Territories

Why Should We Explore Public-Private Partnership (PPP)?

According to information available in the public domain and rough estimates, major developers are believed to be holding no less than 1,000 ha

Some of them may overlap with NDAs or brownfield sites, hence the amount of potential new land supply could be lower.

of agricultural land in the NT. This is about one quarter of the existing built-up area

Excluding rural settlement.

for public and private housing flats. Land resources of this scale, if utilised properly, would have a major positive impact on Hong Kong's housing supply.

At present, there are two main approaches to unlock the potential of large-scale private agricultural land in the NT, namely (i) statutory resumption of the land under the Land Resumption Ordinance (Cap. 124) (LRO), as in the case of taking forward the MDA or other major development projects, and (ii) developers seek to change the use of their land in the NT (for example, to change agricultural land to residential use) through planning applications to TPB, and through lease modifications or land exchange applications to the Government, so as to enhance the site's development potential. In some cases, these planning applications have been unsuccessful mainly due to land use incompatibility or inadequate infrastructural capacity. For those cases which secured planning permission, the scale of development in terms of plot ratio is relatively low.

PPP is not a concept entirely new to Hong Kong. There are precedents, such as certain development projects for the Sha Tin New Town.

  • In the mid-1970s, private developers were invited via tender to participate in the development of Sha Tin New Town. A joint venture comprising four developers was responsible for the reclamation, formation and construction of a site of around 56 ha.
  • Upon completion, 70% of the land was passed to the Government for public housing and infrastructure development, whilst the rest was retained by the private developers for developing a major private estate (City One Shatin), supplying a total of some 10,600 private housing units.

Regarding the use of private land reserve under PPP to provide housing, the following factors have been suggested for inclusion in the proposed model:

  1. Infrastructure to be provided by the Government
    This would involve the construction of infrastructural facilities by the Government to make the local infrastructure better able to cope with the new housing on private land and the surrounding area. This would unlock the potential of the land for higher-density development, for example through increasing plot ratio, to more effectively realise the potential of existing land.

  2. Contributions by developers
    If the Government has to invest in infrastructure to make PPP possible, participating developers should ensure that higher-density development is compatible with the local existing and planning context and commit to building a certain portion of affordable housing (such as "Starter Homes" or HOS flats) in their projects. The construction and relevant costs for these should be borne by the developers. This model can utilise land owned by the private sector as well as their architectural and marketing expertise to provide more affordable housing. The proportion of public and private housing will depend on Government's policy and input of infrastructure.

  3. Planning and lands procedures
    The existing statutory procedures and land administration policies will continue to apply. Firstly, zoning of the private-owned agricultural lots will need to be changed to "Residential" or others and, where appropriate, the development density will need to be increased. TPB will then exercise its planning-related statutory rights as usual. Secondly, the designated use of the land as specified in the lease will need to be modified, after the developer has made payment of the full market value.

  4. Fairness and transparency
    All interested developers may apply to participate. There should be an open, fair and transparent mechanism to ensure that relevant applications are assessed objectively and consistently, with a view to ensuring the best use of public resources and the achievement of public interest and stated objectives of the Government's housing policy. The arrangement is to alleviate any public concerns about possible collusion between the Government and businesses.

Benefits of Development

The investment in infrastructural facilities under PPP models can help unlock private land resources for housing and public facilities, and benefit both the existing and new population.

Developing private land through PPP model should bring about more affordable housing in a more efficient manner, as well as offering diversity in building designs.

Costs of Development

The basic cost of private land development includes mainly supporting infrastructural facilities such as roads, water supply, sewage and flood control facilities.

The PPP arrangement may accelerate rural land development. Some suggest that this may affect the development of local agricultural industry, and may pose threats to areas with high ecological value.

Challenges and Uncertainties

Currently, there is no PPP model tapping into the private land reserve. Whether this can be materialised depends on the relevant policies, arrangements of the schemes and the willingness of the private sector.

The provision of infrastructural facilities by the Government would have to be subject to the approval of statutory processes, including planning, design, applications to fund the work, resumption of land, relocation and compensation. There are uncertainties surrounding the complexity, costs and time involved.

Some suggest that the PPP model will encourage developers to buy and hoard more agricultural land. They believe that the Government should make wider use of the statutory land resumption power provided for in the LRO and, by doing so, perform a leading role in development. However, invoking the LRO requires an established "public purpose". Unless the relevant "public purpose" is demonstrated, the Government cannot make use of the LRO to resume private land.

  • Generally speaking, land resumption for a "public purpose" usually takes place in development projects for new towns, public housing, and community facilities under the Government's public works programmes such as schools, parks, hospitals and welfare service complexes.

There have also been suggestions that one of the guiding principles of the PPP model is that there should be an appropriate ratio between the social benefits generated by the increased housing supply of each project and the economic benefits gained by the developers.

Better use of private land for purposes with greater social benefits is built on a credible mechanism. If using the PPP approach to develop private land is preferred, the Government has to set up an open and fair mechanism in considering how to select the relevant sites for carrying out PPP projects, and for deciding the inputs of the Government as well as the proportion of public-private housing units.

The Government has to devise objective criteria to ensure that potential market players are on a level playing field, and avoid criticism of collusion between the Government and businesses. The Government also has to set clear criteria in deciding the details of the development projects, including the public works to be undertaken by the Government, the proportion of public and private housing units, and the subsequent property rights and management arrangements.

Key Points

  1. The community can explore whether the PPP approach should be adopted and how it can make better use of private land, in particular agricultural land in the NT, so as to bring greater social benefits. For example, whether the Government should provide infrastructural facilities on the periphery of private land to promote higher-density development in the whole area (including private land); and whether the Government should request private developers to provide affordable housing, in addition to private flats, to meet the housing needs of the public.
  2. If private land and the efficiency of the private sector can be optimised, it is believed that this can bring a positive impact to Hong Kong's housing supply, particularly in the short to medium term.
  3. The discussion has to be built on a fair, open and transparent mechanism for the PPP approach established by the Government, to assess each application objectively based on the set criteria for selecting appropriate projects in the public interest.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

短中期選項
利用私人的新界農地儲備

為何探討公私營合作?

根據一些公開的資料及粗略估計,大型發展商合共擁有不少於1,000公頃

部分或與新發展區或棕地的土地重疊,故潛在新增土地供應數量可能低於此數。

的新界農地,面積相等於現有全港公私營房屋總土地面積約四分之一

不計算鄉郊居所土地。

。倘若這些龐大的土地資源可加以利用,將能對本港房屋供應帶來重大的正面作用。

目前,釋放新界大型私人農地發展潛力的方法主要有兩個:一是沿用推展新發展區及其他政府工程項目的做法,由政府以「公共用途」引用《收回土地條例》(第124章),收回包括私人農地在內的土地;另一方法是由市場主導,發展商就其私人農地自行向城規會和政府分別提出規劃申請和契約修訂或換地申請,以改變土地用途(例如由農地改作住宅)及提升發展潛力。在部分個案中,有關規劃申請失敗而回,主要原因是土地用途不協調及基建設施容量不足;即使獲批,有關項目的發展規模(以地積比率計)亦普遍不大。

公私營合作模式在香港並非全新概念,過去亦曾有透過公私營合作發展土地的個案,發展沙田新市鎮的個別項目便屬此例。

  • 在1970年代中期,私人發展商獲邀投標參與發展沙田新市鎮。由四家發展商組成的聯營公司負責進行一幅約56公頃用地的填海、地盤平整及建造工程。
  • 工程完成後,七成土地轉交政府作公共房屋及基建發展之用,其餘部分則由私人發展商留作發展一個大型私人屋苑(即沙田第一城),合共提供約10,600個單位。

不同人士曾就透過公私營合作模式利用私人土地儲備以提供更多房屋,提出以下建議或應包含的主要元素:

  1. 政府提供基建
    透過政府提供基建設施,使新增基建能配合私人土地上及周邊地區的新建房屋,並促使更高密度的發展(如提高地積比率),從而更有效地釋放現有土地的潛力。

  2. 發展商的付出
    若政府需投資於基建建設以促成公私營合作,參與的發展商應確保較高密度的發展可當區的現有及規劃背景相容,並承諾在其項目中替政府興建一定比例的可負擔房屋(例如「港人首置上車盤」或居屋單位),而建築及相關費用則由發展商承擔。這模式可利用私營界別在土地、建築與市場推廣方面的專長,為市民提供更多可負擔的房屋,而公私營房屋的比例則取決於政府的政策及基建設施投放的程度。

  3. 規劃及地政程序
    現有的法定城規程序及土地行政機制將繼續適用。首先,私人農地的規劃需改作「住宅」或其他用途,並在適當情況下提升發展密度,而城規會如常行使在規劃方面的法定權力。其次,發展商需在向政府繳付十足市價後,修改地契內訂明的土地指定用途。

  4. 公平及透明度
    任何有興趣的發展商均可申請參與。有關機制必須公開、公平及透明,以客觀及前後一致的準則來評審有關申請,並確保公共資源的投放能符合公眾利益和政府的房屋政策目標,以釋除公眾對「官商勾結」的疑慮。

發展效益

在公私營合作模式下對基建設施的投資,有助釋放目前未被善用的私人土地資源,以發展更多房屋及公共設施,亦可同時惠及現有和新增的人口。

透過公私營合作模式發展私人土地,應可更有效率地提供更多可負擔的房屋,並使建築設計更多元化。

發展成本

發展私人土地的成本主要包括基建支援設施,例如道路、水務、排污、防洪設施等。

公私營合作的安排或加速鄉郊土地的發展。有意見認為這或影響本地農業的發展空間,並對具高生態價值的用地構成威脅。

挑戰和不確定性

現時並無任何利用私人土地儲備的公私營合作模式,是否能成事須視乎有關政策、計劃的安排及私營機構的意願。

政府提供基建設施須通過既定程序(包括規劃、設計、申請工程撥款、收地、安置及補償等),當中的複雜性及牽涉的成本和時間存在不確定性。

有意見認為,公私營合作會鼓勵發展商購入及囤積農地,因此認為政府應更廣泛地運用《收回土地條例》(第124章)的法定收地權力,藉此牽頭進行發展。然而,引用該公權必須按照《收回土地條例》確立「公共用途」;如不能確立有關的「公共用途」,政府不可引用有關條例收回私人土地。

  • 一般來說,作「公共用途」的收地計劃,通常包括新市鎮發展、公共房屋發展、政府透過工務計劃發展社區設施如學校、公園、醫院、福利服務大樓等。

有建議認為,公私營合作模式的其中一項主導原則,是項目增加房屋供應所帶來的社會裨益,應與發展商所獲的經濟利益成合宜的比例。

善用私人土地作更具社會效益的用途建基於令人信服的機制。如確定透過公私營合作發展私人土地的模式可取,政府須訂立公開及公平的機制,考慮如何選定用地以進行公私營合作及決定政府的承擔和公私營房屋的比例。

政府需要訂立客觀的準則,以確保潛在的市場參與者可以公平競爭,同時避免招致「官商勾結」的批評。政府亦須釐訂清晰的準則,以制定發展項目的細節(包括政府需承擔的工務工程、公營及私人單位供應比例、業權及管理安排等)。

要點

  1. 社會可探討應否及如何透過公私營合作,更好地善用私人土地(特別是新界農地),作更具社會效益的用途,例如政府應否在私人土地的周邊地區提供基建設施,促成整個地區(包括私人土地)能作較高密度的發展,並要求私人發展商在提供私人住宅之餘,同時提供可負擔房屋,以滿足市民的住屋需要。
  2. 若能善用這些私人土地及私營界別的效率,相信對本港房屋供應(特別是短中期而言)可帶來正面的影響。
  3. 有關討論必須建基於政府會為這類公私營合作訂立一套公平、公開和透明的機制,客觀地按照訂定的準則處理各個申請,並挑選符合公眾利益的項目。