Skip to main content

Short to Medium Term Option
Alternative Uses of Sites under Private Recreational Leases
Relocation or Consolidation of Land-Extensive Recreational Facilities

Private Recreational Lease Sites

At present, there are a total of 66 Private Recreational Lease (PRL) sites in Hong Kong, which occupy around 408 ha of land in total. Of these, 39 sites occupying about 67 ha have been granted to social and welfare organisations, uniformed groups, "national sports associations" (NSAs), district sports associations (DSAs) and civil service organisations. These 39 sites are operated in a "quasi-public" nature, i.e. in general imposing no membership requirement for using the facilities; or, if there is a membership requirement, the membership fee is relatively low and there is no limit on membership size. Typical uses of these sites include camp sites and youth hostels run by charitable, religious and youth organisations, sports facilities managed by NSAs and DSAs, headquarters/offices of uniformed groups and civil service union/staff recreational facilities.

The remaining 27 PRL sites, which occupy a total area of about 341 ha, are held by private sports clubs. Recently, some in the community have suggested that land occupied by private sports clubs should be released for housing development.

From the perspective of increasing land supply, the Task Force considers that the society should have an objective and rational discussion on this topic, rather than taking a simplified, generalised view that either all private sports club sites should be resumed for housing development or all should be retained.

  • In the past, in particular during the initial period, there was an acute shortage of public sports and recreational facilities in Hong Kong. Hence the Government granted sites to community organisations and private sports clubs under PRLs for developing sports and recreational venues at nil or nominal premium. This arrangement has been in place for many years; some of the PRL sites have over a century's history of operation.
  • The Home Affairs Bureau (HAB) set up an interdepartmental working group to conduct a comprehensive review on the policy of PRL in 2014. HAB promulgated the recommendations of the policy review and launched a six-month consultation to solicit views of the public and stakeholders on those recommendations in March 2018.
  • In considering whether the PRLs concerned would be renewed upon their expiry, HAB proposed to review the contribution rendered by each of the private sports clubs towards sports development in detail and require the lessees to further open up their facilities so as to better complement and support sports development in Hong Kong. Meanwhile, the role of the Task Force, from the perspective of land supply, is to set out the basic information, benefits and costs of development, challenges and timelines of all potential land supply options (including PRL sites), so as to help the community to make a choice.

The Task Force believes that the society can consider different angles as to whether individual sites can be released for other purposes, while striking a balance between the contributions of individual sites to sports development and increasing land supply.

Other factors should also be taken into consideration, such as whether there is a limit to the development potential of the land; whether the surrounding infrastructure can cope with demand; and the views of different stakeholders. If a certain site has considerable development potential but at the same time its existing use does contribute to sports development, an alternative site may need to be identified to relocate the facility. As such, it would take a considerable period of time to release the site for other developments.

"Land-extensive" Government Recreational Facilities

"Land-extensive" sports and recreational venues generally refer to those occupying an area of 3 ha or more each that are managed by the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD). A total of 95 LCSD sports and recreational venues are considered land-extensive. They can be broadly divided into four categories: (a) sports grounds and stadiums; (b) parks; (c) holiday camps, picnic areas and water sports centres; and (d) outdoor swimming pools as well as recreational and sports centres.

The 95 sports and recreation venues are generally well-utilised by the general public. The possibility of relocating individual facilities should not be totally ruled out, so as to achieve more optimal site utilisation. In addition, some have suggested that, where possible, the Government can also consider relocating existing facilities to restored landfill sites, so as to release the land for other uses.

Benefits of Development

The Task Force would like to use the case of Fanling Golf Course (FGC) to illustrate the factors to be considered when developing PRL sites for other purposes, and the benefits and limitations of development. This case has been selected because there are views in the community that the land occupied by FGC should be released for housing or other purposes, and the site is the largest among the 27 PRL sites held by private sports clubs. In addition, Government-appointed consultants have conducted a broad assessment on the development potential of the FGC site from a technical perspective under the Preliminary Feasibility Study on Developing the New Territories North (NTN Study).

The FGC site of 172 ha is held under a PRL by Hong Kong Golf Club. It has three 18-hole courses. Its current lease will expire in 2020. The closest point of FGC is about 800 metres to the west of Sheung Shui MTR Station. There are a number of low-density residential developments bordering the northern and western periphery of FGC. Adjacent to the north-eastern boundary of FGC is a higher-density public housing development, Ching Ho Estate. Towards the east and south of FGC, the land is still mostly undeveloped with a higher concentration of active agricultural land and a predominantly rural character. The FGC site is dissected by Fan Kam Road. Bounded by trees and with the Dongjiang water mains running alongside, Fan Kam Road is a rural road, more specifically a narrow, two-lane roadway with traffic operating in both directions. No sidewalk or bike lanes are provided along Fan Kam Road.

Two development options of FGC have been examined under the NTN Study:

  1. Partial Development Option: this would involve releasing only the eastern part of FGC, i.e. the eight-hole "Old Course", for housing development, which would involve the 32 ha of land to the east of Fan Kam Road. This is on the assumption that the rest of FGC, which covers 140 ha of land, could still have the capacity and supporting facilities to host international golf tournaments. Higher-density residential developments are proposed in the north-eastern corner close to the existing Sheung Shui New Town while lower-density residential uses are proposed further away from the Sheung Shui New Town. The flat production in this option is 4,600, accommodating a population of about 13,000.

  2. Full Development Option: this would involve releasing the entire FGC for housing, commercial, government, institution or community, open space, and tourism/leisure uses. High- and medium-density residential developments are proposed in the northern and north-eastern parts of the FGC site closer to the Sheung Shui New Town. Apart from lower-density residential developments, commercial and tourism/leisure uses are proposed in the southern and western parts of the FGC site. The flat production from this option would be 13,200, accommodating a population of about 37,000. The commercial and tourism/leisure uses would provide about 12,000 jobs.

The Task Force believes that there is room to adjust the number of housing units under the two options, subject to detailed transport impact assessment, as well as the impact on conservation of trees and heritage, etc.

Besides these two development options, there are views in society, in particular within the sports sector, that the whole FGC should be retained for golf activities and hosting international tournaments, and to serve as a base for elite sports development and the training of young golfers. There are also views that part of the FGC can be used for other sports or recreational facilities which are open to the public.

Two development options of FGC examined under NTN Study
Partial Development Option Full Development Option
Location The area to the east of Fan Kam Road The entire FGC
Land released 32 ha 172 ha
Housing units 4,600 13,200
Population 13,000 37,000
Jobs 840 12,000

Partial Development Option
Source: Preliminary Feasibility Study on Developing the New Territories North

Full Development Option
Source: Preliminary Feasibility Study on Developing the New Territories North

For "land-extensive" government recreational facilities, there have been suggestions that the Tuen Mun Recreation and Sports Centre, which occupies 12.5 ha and comprises a golf driving range, a riding school, an archery range and an adventure park, can be relocated to other sites not required for development, hence releasing the site for alternative developments. In addition, there may be room for redeveloping the 3.5-ha Tuen Mun Swimming Pool into a multi-storey complex with some indoor pools for better site utilisation. Where feasible, the Government will also consider restoring closed landfills for sports and recreational purposes.

  • There are 13 closed landfills in Hong Kong. To render these landfills suitable for beneficial use, the Environmental Protection Department (EPD) carried out restoration work on these closed landfills between 1997 and 2006.
  • Currently, six of these restored landfills have been developed into various recreational facilities, including Jordan Valley Park and Sai Tso Wan Recreation Ground.
  • To expedite the development of suitable facilities at the remaining seven restored landfills for beneficial uses, the Government has set up the Restored Landfill Revitalisation Funding Scheme and earmarked HK$1 billion to fund Non-Profit-making Organisations or NSAs to develop recreational facilities or other innovative uses at the restored landfills.

Costs of Development

According to the consultants' broad technical assessment, the Partial Development Option of FGC may be implemented independent of the New Territories North development subject to infrastructural improvements in terms of road interchange, sewerage, drainage and water supply. As FGC is located on Government land and lands resumption and clearance operations are not required, the Task Force considers that this could be a potential short to medium-term land supply option. Implementation of the Full Development Option will, however, necessitate improvement to the strategic transport networks and infrastructure, and is assumed to be taken forward together with the New Territories North development. Under the Full Development Option, there is also a need to consider whether the golf courses would be rebuilt elsewhere. Hence, the Task Force considers that this can only be a medium to long term land supply option.

The 95 land-extensive sports and recreation venues are generally well-utilised by the general public. Many are located close to residential or commercial areas to facilitate public enjoyment. Relocating or redeveloping such facilities would affect residents in the community. Relevant land searches for alternative sites, relocation and necessary feasibility studies would also take time.

Challenges and Uncertainties

Development of FGC for alternative uses is subject to a number of considerations:

  1. There is a cluster of historical buildings including Fanling Club House (Grade 2), Fanling Half-way House (Grade 3) and Fanling Lodge (Grade 1). Its Old Course is the world's second oldest course outside Britain, after the Royal Calcutta Golf Club's course in India. In addition, there are over 100 graves and urns scattered throughout the FGC;

  2. There are more than 30,000 trees in FGC, including some 160 potential Old and Valuable Trees and protected species;

  3. Under the Full Development Option, the widening of Fan Kam Road would involve substantial tree felling and appropriate arrangement for the Dongjiang water mains; and

  4. An annual international golf tournament (The Hong Kong Open) has been held at FGC since 1959. At present, FGC is the only venue in Hong Kong suitable for hosting this large-scale international tournament. The FGC is also the major training base for local elite and young golfers.

Detailed planning and engineering feasibility studies by the Government are required for whatever development option to be further pursued.

Restored landfills can be used for community recreational facilities. Nevertheless, development at restored landfills is subject to technical constraints. For example, the surfaces of restored landfills can only withstand limited loading and often exhibit uneven decomposition. Piling is also not allowed. Restored landfills in general do not have proper vehicular lanes, and the land use after restoration has to meet relevant planning and land use requirements.

Key Points

  1. Facilities run by private sports clubs make certain contributions to the sports development of Hong Kong. The review conducted by HAB in regard to the policy of PRL focuses on reviewing the contribution rendered by the facilities built on the PRL sites towards sports development. Meanwhile, the Task Force is concerned about whether the sites held by private sports clubs could be a feasible land supply option.
  2. The Task Force uses the FGC as an example to help society deliberate on the issue from different angles, including the contributions of individual clubs to sports development; whether the site has been put in optimal use; whether there is limit to the development potential of the land; whether the surrounding infrastructure can cope with demand; and the views of different stakeholders. If certain sites have considerable development potential and at the same time their existing use does make a contribution to sports development, alternative sites may need to be identified to relocate these facilities. Hence it would take a considerable period of time to release the site for other developments.
  3. Government-appointed consultants have proposed two preliminary development options for the FGC site for housing or other purposes. The Partial Development Option strives to balance the needs for both housing and keeping part of the FGC to host international tournaments. The Full Development Option, which proposes developing the entire site for housing, commercial, community facilities and open space uses etc., involves considerations such as whether there is a need to relocate the FGC, the significant infrastructural improvements for supporting the development scale, and a longer implementation timeframe. Despite the considerable challenges of developing housing within the FGC site, the Task Force believes there is room to adjust the number of housing units under the two options, subject to considerations on conservation of trees and heritages, and the level of transport infrastructure support. On the other hand, there are views in society that the entire FGC should be retained; or part of it should be converted into sports venues or recreational facilities which are open to the public.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

短中期選項
利用私人遊樂場地契約用地作其他用途
重置或整合佔地廣的康樂設施

私人遊樂場地契約用地

現時本港共有66幅私人遊樂場地契約用地(下簡稱契約用地),佔地共約408公頃,當中39幅(約67公頃)已批予社會福利機構、制服團體、體育總會、地區體育會等社區組織和公務員團體,以「半公共」性質的模式營運,一般沒有規定需要入會才可使用設施;即使要入會,會費亦較低,會員人數亦通常不設上限。這些用地的一般用途包括由慈善團體、宗教團體或青年組織營運的營地和青年旅舍、由體育總會和地區體育會管理的體育設施、制服團體的總部或辦事處,以及公務員工會/職員會康樂設施。

其餘27幅契約用地由私人體育會持有,共佔地約341公頃。近年社會上部分人士認為,應釋出這些私人體育會佔用的土地作房屋發展。

從增加土地供應的角度而言,專責小組認為社會應就此議題作客觀、理性的討論,而不應簡單、概括地說所有私人體育會的用地都應收回用作建屋發展,又或所有都必須保留。

  • 由於香港過去尤其開埠之初,公共體育及康樂設施嚴重缺乏,政府遂透過契約以免地價或象徵式地價批出土地,供有意推動體育及康樂發展的社區組織和私人體育會興建及營運康體設施。這項安排已實施多年,部分契約用地更營運長逾一個世紀。
  • 民政事務局於2014年成立跨部門工作小組,就私人遊樂場地契約政策進行全面檢討。該局於2018年3月公布政策檢討的建議,並就相關建議展開為期6個月的公眾及持扮者諮詢。
  • 民政事務局建議在考慮有關私人遊樂場地契約下次期滿續約前,逐一詳細檢視個別私人體育會對體育發展作出的貢獻,並要求契約承租人進一步開放設施,以更好地配合及支援香港的體育發展。而專責小組的工作則從土地供應的角度出發,鋪陳所有具發展潛力的土地供應選項(包括私人遊樂場地契約用地)的基本資料、發展效益和成本、挑戰及時間性等,讓社會作出取捨和抉擇。

社會可從不同角度探討,在平衡這些用地對體育發展的貢獻及增加土地供應下,考慮是否可以釋放個別用地作其他用途。

此外,亦需考慮土地有否發展限制、基建設施能否配合,以及不同持扮者的意見等因素。如果個別用地有相當的發展潛力,而現有用途同時對體育發展有貢獻,則可能要探討是否可以覓地重置有關設施,因此可能需要一段時間才能釋放這些用地作其他發展。

佔地廣闊的政府康樂設施

「佔地廣闊」的體育及康樂場地一般指每幅佔地3公頃或以上、由康樂及文化事務署管理的場地。這類佔地廣闊的體育及康樂場地共有95個,大致可分為四類:(a)運動場和體育館;(b)公園;(c)度假營、郊遊區和水上活動中心;(d)戶外游泳池和康樂體育中心。

這95個體育及康樂場地一般廣為公眾使用。為達致地盡其用,則不應完全排除遷置個別設施這個選項的可能性。亦有意見指可考慮將現有設施搬遷到已活化的堆填區上,以釋放土地作其他用途。

發展效益

專責小組以粉嶺高爾夫球場項目作為例子,探討發展契約用地作其他發展時須注意的事項及潛在的發展效益及限制。選擇此例子的原因,主要基於社會上有意見認為應釋放粉嶺高爾夫球場用地作房屋或其他用途,而該用地在27幅由私人體育會持有的契約用地中面積最大,以及政府聘請的研究顧問亦曾在《發展新界北部地區初步可行性研究》(下簡稱《新界北研究》)中,從技術層面就粉嶺高爾夫球場用地的發展潛力作出了粗略的評估。

粉嶺高爾夫球場土地佔地172公頃,由香港哥爾夫球會以私人遊樂場地契約持有,包括3個18洞的高爾夫球場,現有契約將於2020年屆滿。球場在上水港鐵站以西,最近距離為800米;北面和西面有不少相對低密度的住宅發展項目,東北面則毗鄰較高密度的公營房屋項目清河邨。球場東面和南面多為未發展的常耕農地和鄉郊活動為主的土地。粉錦公路把球場分為兩部分,兩旁廣植樹木,其中東江水水管沿粉錦公路鋪設;該公路是一條雙線行車的狹窄公路,提供雙向行車,沿路不設行人道或單車徑。

《新界北研究》就粉嶺高爾夫球場探討了兩個發展方案:

  1. 局部發展方案:建議發展球場位於粉錦公路以東約32公頃土地(即舊場其中8個洞的用地)作房屋發展,並假設餘下140公頃的球場土地仍可有足夠條件和配套設施,以繼續舉辦國際高爾夫球賽。當中較高密度的住宅發展建議設於土地的東北部(毗鄰現時上水新市鎮),而遠離上水新市鎮的位置則建議作較低密度住宅發展。這方案可提供4,600個住宅單位,容納約13,000人。

  2. 全面發展方案:建議發展整個粉嶺高爾夫球場作房屋、商業、「政府、機構或社區」、休憩用地,以及旅遊/消閒用途。建議的高中密度住宅發展位於球場北部和東北部,毗鄰上水新市鎮。除了較低密度住宅發展外,球場南部和西部亦會容納商業和旅遊/消閒用途的土地。這方案可提供13,200個住宅單位,容納約37,000人。商業和旅遊/消閒項目則可提供約12,000個就業機會。

《新界北研究》就粉嶺高爾夫球場兩個發展方案
局部發展方案 全面發展方案
位置 粉錦公路以東範圍 整個粉嶺高爾夫球場
土地面積 32 公頃 172 公頃
提供住宅單位 4,600 13,200
可容納人口 13,000 37,000
創造就業職位 840 12,000

局部發展方案
資料來源:《發展新界北部地區初步可行性研究》

全面發展方案
資料來源:《發展新界北部地區初步可行性研究》

專責小組相信兩個方案的建屋數量仍有空間作出調整,但需要詳細評估對交通配套、樹木及文物保育等範疇的影響。

除了上述兩個發展方案外,社會上尤其是體育界人士指出,應全面保留粉嶺高爾夫球場,以繼續進行高爾夫球運動及舉辦國際賽事,並作為高爾夫球精英及青少年運動員的培訓基地;此外,亦有意見認為可將球場部分用地改作向公眾開放的球場或康樂設施。

就佔地廣闊的政府康樂設施方面,有意見指佔地12.5公頃的屯門康樂體育中心設施(包括一個高爾夫球練習場、一間騎術學校、一個射箭場和一個歷奇公園),可遷置到其他毋須發展的用地上,以釋出該用地作其他發展用途。另外,可考慮把佔地3.5公頃的屯門游泳池重建為一個設有一些室內泳池的多層綜合場館,以便地盡其用。在可行情況下,政府亦會考慮活化已關閉的堆填區作體育及康樂用途。

  • 全港共有13個已關閉的堆填區。環境保護署(環保署)在1997年至2006年間在這些已關閉的堆填區進行了修復工程,令它們適合發展作其他有利的修復後用途。
  • 至今,其中6個已修復堆填區已發展成不同種類的康樂設施,例如佐敦谷公園和晒草灣遊樂場。
  • 為加快把其餘7個已修復堆填區發展作有利用途,政府設立10億元「活化已修復堆填區資助計劃」,資助非牟利機構或體育總會,在已修復堆填區發展康樂設施或其他合適的創新用途。

發展成本

有關粉嶺高爾夫球場用地,研究顧問的粗略技術評估是局部發展方案可以獨立於新界北發展進行,惟仍需改善道路交匯處、污水系統、排水系統及供水各項基建設施。由於球場全屬政府土地,不涉及收地和清拆,專責小組認為局部發展方案有條件作為短、中期的土地供應選項。如推行全面發展方案,由於需要大幅提升策略交通網絡和基建設施,假設會與新界北發展共同推行,同時亦要考慮是否需要重置球場設施。因此專責小組認為只能作為中長期的土地供應選項。

95個佔地廣闊的政府體育及康樂場地一般廣為公眾使用,大多數毗鄰住宅或商業區,以便市民享用。遷置或重建這些設施會影響當區居民。覓地、重置及所需的可行性研究亦需時。

挑戰和不確定性

發展粉嶺高爾夫球場作其他用途時,亦需要考慮以下因素:

  1. 球場內現存有歷史建築群,包括球場會所(二級歷史建築)和小食亭(三級歷史建築),以及行政長官粉嶺別墅(一級歷史建築)。而其舊場是現今英國以外第二最古老的球場,僅次於印度皇家加爾各答高爾夫球會(Royal Calcutta Golf Club)的球場。此外,球場內散布百多個祖墳及金塔。

  2. 球場內有超過30,000棵樹木,包括約160棵可能屬於古樹名木和受保護品種。

  3. 在全面發展方案下須擴闊粉錦公路,大量砍伐樹木和適當處理東江水水管。

  4. 自1959年起,粉嶺高爾夫球場每年舉辦國際高爾夫球賽(香港高爾夫球公開賽)。目前,粉嶺高爾夫球場是本港唯一一個適合舉辦這項大型國際高爾夫球賽事的場地。球場亦是本港精英和青少年運動員的主要訓練場地。

不論任何發展方案,政府仍需就所選方案進行詳細規劃及工程可行性研究。

已修復堆填區或可用作社區康樂設施,但在發展上要面對多種技術限制,例如堆填區的表面只能承受有限的重量,並且容易出現不平均沉降,亦不容許進行打樁工程。已修復堆填區一般缺乏適當的行車通道,修復後的用途亦需要符合有關的規劃和土地使用要求。

要點

  1. 由私人體育會營運的設施對本港的體育發展有一定貢獻。民政事務局就私人遊樂場地契約政策進行的檢討,集中檢視契約用地上的設施對體育發展作出貢獻。專責小組則關注這些由私人體育會持有的用地是否可作為一個可行的土地供應選項。
  2. 專責小組以粉嶺高爾夫球場用地作為例子,讓社會可從不同角度,探討私人體育會對體育發展的貢獻、現有用途是否地盡其用、土地有否被善用、土地有否發展限制、基建設施能否配合、不同持扮者的意見等。如果個別用地有相當的發展潛力,而現有用途同時對體育發展有貢獻,則可能要探討是否可以覓地重置現有設施,以至可能需要一段時間才能釋放這些用地作其他發展。
  3. 就政府顧問對發展粉嶺高爾夫球場作房屋或其他用途提出的兩個初步建議,局部發展方案嘗試兼顧興建房屋和保留部分球場舉辦國際賽事的功能,而全面發展方案則建議把整個球場作房屋、商業、社區設施、休憩用地等用途,當中要考慮是否需要重置球場設施,而發展規模需大幅提升基建設施支持,實施時間較長。儘管在球場內興建房屋會有不少挑戰,但專責小組相信兩個方案的建屋數量仍有空間作出調整,但這或會影響樹木、文物保育、交通配套等考慮。另外,社會上有意見指應將粉嶺高爾夫球場全面保留,或考慮將球場部分用地改作向公眾開放的球場或康樂設施。