Skip to main content

Conceptual Option
Reclaiming part of Plover Cove Reservoir for New Town Development

Developing a New Town at Plover Cove Reservoir?

Hong Kong currently has a total of 17 reservoirs, together covering a total area of 2,400 ha. Among them, 16 are located in country parks.

Located in Tai Mei Tuk in Tai Po, Plover Cove Reservoir (PCR) is Hong Kong's second largest reservoir in terms of storage capacity with an area of about 1,200 ha, which represents about half of the total area covered by all the reservoirs and amounts to about 2.8% of the total area covered by country parks.

The PCR, accounting for about 40% of Hong Kong's total storage capacity, plays an important strategic role in the water supply of Hong Kong. Its key functions include collecting and storing rainwater, acting as a buffer or transient storage for Dongjiang water, regulating water supply to major water treatment works, and providing a strategic reserve.

  • The purpose of the strategic reserve is to cope with any unforeseeable water supply crisis, such as damage to the Dongjiang Water Supply System, or the occurrence of extreme drought.
  • Reservoirs in Hong Kong have a total storage capacity of 586 million cubic metres (MCM), which can meet four to six months' water consumption in Hong Kong. The High Island Reservoir (storage capacity 281 MCM) and the PCR (storage capacity 230 MCM) are the two largest reservoirs, accounting for 87% of Hong Kong's total storage capacity.

Benefits of Development

There has been a suggestion to reclaim part of the PCR for development of a "Plover Cove New Town" (PCNT). The suggestion involves reclaiming around 600 ha of land.

It is suggested that 300,000 units could be built on the reclaimed land to house 0.8 to 1.2 million people. The remaining area would be used for open space and water storage purposes. The suggestion also involves building two more desalination plants with capacity similar to the desalination plant in Tseung Kwan O, which is now at the planning stage.

Costs of Development

The suggested development of PCNT will undermine the stability and reliability of the water supply in Hong Kong, causing the strategic reserve to drop from a level of 4 to 6 months' consumption to only 3 to 4 months' consumption. This would affect the ability of Hong Kong to cope with water supply crisis, such as damage to the Dongjiang water supply system or the occurrence of extreme drought.

Like most of the reservoirs in Hong Kong, the PCR is located at areas of relatively high ecological and conservation value within a country park. The PCNT proposal may have impacts on the environment, including recognised sites of conservation and archaeological interest, historic buildings, ecologically sensitive areas, important habitats, as well as landscape and visual settings.

The costs of developing the PCR would mainly involve site formation works, necessary transport and other infrastructure facilities, including water supply, sewage, electricity supply and telecommunication facilities. Water supply works and infrastructure would also be required to compensate for the impact of reclamation of the reservoir; for example, the construction of a desalination plant, the reconfiguration of a substantial part of Hong Kong's water supply network, and necessary measures to mitigate the impact on neighbouring country parks and other environmental impact.

The PCR is far from major transport networks, has a dam of more than 10 metres high, and has poor accessibility by land or sea. These would present significant constraints on reclamation work. It is estimated that the construction cost would be very high.

Challenges and Uncertainties

As the PCR falls within a country park area, the suggestion to develop part of the PCR would also be subject to a detailed Environmental Impact Assessment.

The PCR is within the published water gathering ground under the Waterworks Ordinance (Cap. 102). If the suggestion is taken forward, the Water Authority would need to alter the limits or areas on the relevant maps of the gathering ground. For any major development proposals involving country parks and special area, the consent of the Country and Marine Parks Authority would be required prior to implementation, in consultation with the Country and Marine Parks Board and the Advisory Council on the Environment. In case of reducing the area of a country park, statutory procedures as stipulated in the Country Parks Ordinance (Cap. 208) would have to be invoked. Based on initial assessments, it would be a great challenge for such a suggestion not to have an overall adverse impact on the environment. Post-reclamation development would also be subject to the rezoning procedure according to the Town Planning Ordinance (Cap. 131).

Reclaiming reservoir for development will reduce the strategic reserve and total water storage capacity of Hong Kong's reservoirs. Hong Kong will have to use other water sources, for example a desalinated plant or additional intake of the Dongjiang water supply to maintain the stability and reliability of its water supply.

  • In exploring the use of desalinated water, due considerations have to be given to, amongst other things, the availability of a seafront site to build desalination plants, seawater quality at intake, ecological impacts at the outfall, and the associated water supply network and its operation mode.
  • We also have to evaluate sustainability issues in terms of the high usage of electricity for the production of desalinated water and its associated environmental impact, as well as the security of the power supply.
  • The feasibility and extra cost of the option of increasing the intake of Dongjiang water also have to be dealt with care, as Dongjiang water resources are almost fully utilised.

The suggestion to reclaim a part of the PCR for development whilst keeping the remaining part of the reservoir for water storage is against the Government's multi-barrier approach in protecting water resources. Developing a new town of such scale in close proximity to the reservoir zone will pose significant risks of pollution to the water resource.

Even if the proposal to reclaim a part of the PCR gains public support and is found to be feasible, it is anticipated that the entire development process would take more than 20 years to complete feasibility study, planning and engineering study, public engagement and other statutory procedures (including amending the boundaries of reservoirs/country parks and planning process). Therefore, such a suggestion can only be considered as a very long-term land supply option.

Key Points

  1. As the PCR falls within a country park area, the considerations in connection with developing the periphery of country parks are also relevant to the suggestion of reclaiming a part of the PCR to build the PCNT.
  2. Reservoirs play an important strategic role in the water supply of Hong Kong. The proposal to reclaim the PCR would have a far-reaching impact on the stability of water supply and the optimisation of water resources in the long run. Before taking forward the option, operation of the whole raw water supply system and the corresponding mitigation measures should be assessed and considered in a prudent manner.
  3. Even if the option to develop PCNT gains support and is found to be feasible, it is anticipated that the entire development process would take more than two decades to complete. Such a suggestion can only be considered as a very long-term land supply option.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

概念性選項
填平部分船灣淡水湖作
新市鎮發展

於船灣淡水湖發展新市鎮?

香港現有17個水塘,總面積約2,400公頃。其中16個水塘在郊野公園之內。

船灣淡水湖位於大埔大尾篤,以容量計是香港第二大水塘,湖面面積約1,200公頃,佔全港水塘總面積近半及全港郊野公園面積約2.8%。

船灣淡水湖佔全港水塘總儲存量約40%,在供水上扮演策略性的重要角色。它的主要用途是收集及儲存雨水、用作緩衝或暫存輸入的東江水、調配食水至主要的濾水廠,以及提供策略性儲備。

  • 策略性儲備是為了應對不能預見的供水危機,例如當輸港東江水供水系統出現故障或發生極端乾旱情況。
  • 現時香港水塘的儲存量約5.86億立方米,可應付全港4個至6個月的食水用量。其中最大的兩個水塘為萬宜水庫(儲存量2.81億立方米)及船灣淡水湖(儲存量2.3億立方米),佔全港水塘總儲存量約87%。

發展效益

社會上有人建議填平部分船灣淡水湖作發展「船灣新市鎮」。有關建議涉及填平約600公頃土地,以興建30萬個單位供80萬至120萬人居住,其餘面積留作公共空間和儲水用途。有關建議亦涉及在計劃中的將軍澳海水化淡廠以外,額外興建兩間規模相若的海水化淡廠。

發展成本

「船灣新市鎮」的建議會減低香港供水的穩定性和可靠性,導致策略性儲備由可以應付約4個至6個月的食水用量減少為3個至4個月,削弱了香港應對供水危機的能力,例如當輸港東江水系統出現故障或發生極端乾旱情況。

與香港其他大部分的水塘一樣,船灣淡水湖位處於生態和保育價值較高的郊野公園範圍內。「船灣新市鎮」的建議可能會對環境,包括一些具保育、考古價值的地點、歷史建築、生態敏感地區及重要的生態環境,以至地貌景觀造成影響。

發展水塘的成本主要涉及土地平整工程;發展所需的運輸和其他基建設施(包括供水、排污、電力供應、通訊設備等);為彌補失去被填平的水塘對香港食水供應的影響而所需的水務及基建工程,例如增設海水化淡廠、重新配置整個供水網絡等;緩減對郊野公園和其他環境影響的措施。

由於船灣淡水湖遠離主要交通網絡,加上受逾10米高水壩的限制,從陸路或海路進行填水塘工程均會受到重大掣肘,工程費用估計會十分高昂。

挑戰和不確定性

船灣淡水湖位處郊野公園範圍內,發展部分船灣淡水湖的建議須進行詳細的環境影響評估。

船灣淡水湖位處於《水務設施條例》(第102章)下所公布的集水區內,如要填平作發展用途,水務署須修改相關集水區地圖的界限或範圍。任何大型發展建議因涉及郊野公園和特殊地區,須諮詢郊野公園及海岸公園委員會和環境諮詢委員會,並在取得郊野公園及海岸公園管理局的同意後方可進行。如要落實從郊野公園範圍剔除有關區域,必須根據《郊野公園條例》(第208章)所列明的法定程序進行。初步估計,這項建議要達到整體上不會對環境造成不良影響,將會是一項十分嚴峻的挑戰。填平水塘後的發展亦需要經過《城市規劃條例》(第131章)的改劃程序。

填平水塘作發展用途會減少全港水塘的策略性儲備及總儲存量。香港將需要採用其他水資源,例如海水化淡、增加東江水供應量等,以維持供水的穩定性和可靠性。

  • 在探討使用海水化淡時,需考慮在沿海地區興建海水化淡廠所需要的土地資源、進水口周邊的海水質素、排水對海洋生態的影響、食水供應網絡功能及運作模式等因素。
  • 我們亦須評估因使用海水化淡而大量耗電的可持續性及其對環境的影響,以及供電可靠的安排。
  • 由於東江水資源已經接近完全開發使用,我們須小心考慮增加輸入東江水的可行性及額外成本。

將部分船灣淡水湖填平作發展用途而將餘下部分留作儲水用途,與多重屏障的保護水資源的政策相違背。在毗連淡水湖地帶進行大規模的新市鎮發展,會對水資源帶來重大的污染風險。

填平部分船灣淡水湖的建議即使獲得公眾支持及證實可行,整個發展過程包括可行性研究、規劃及工程研究、公眾參與及各項法定的程序(包括修訂水塘/郊野公園界限、規劃等),預計需要超過20年方能完成,只能作為非常長遠的土地供應方案。

要點

  1. 船灣淡水湖位處於郊野公園範圍內,故此各項有關發展郊野公園邊陲地帶的考慮,皆適用於透過填平部分水塘以建設「船灣新市鎮」之建議。
  2. 水塘在香港供水上扮演着策略性的重要角色,填平船灣淡水湖的建議對香港的供水穩定性和長遠水資源布局影響深遠。在決定推行相關方案前,必須慎重評估及考慮相應緩解措施,以及原水供應運作模式。
  3. 即使「船灣新市鎮」的方案獲得支持及確認可行,整個發展過程預計需時超過20年,只能作為非常長遠的土地供應方案