Skip to main content

Medium to Long Term Option
Near-shore Reclamation Outside Victoria Harbour
Developing the East Lantau Metropolis

Why Reclamation?

Reclamation of land from the sea has long been used to provide land for Hong Kong in its transformation from a fishing village to an international city. Reclamation can generate a large piece of land with greater flexibility for land use planning to meet the needs of sustainable development of society. Unlike other land supply options, reclamation does not create major impacts on existing land use and usually does not require private land resumption and household resettlement. As at 2016, about 7,000 ha of land in Hong Kong had been formed by reclamation, representing 25% of the developed area, or about 6% of Hong Kong's total land area. Such reclaimed land is accommodating about 27% of Hong Kong's total population and 70% of its commercial activities.

Reclamation plays an important role in new town development. Among the nine existing new towns in Hong Kong, six of them – Tsuen Wan, Sha Tin, Tuen Mun, Tai Po, Tseung Kwan O and Tung Chung – have been built to different extents on reclaimed land.

Reclamation not only provides land for housing and commercial uses, it is also a major source of land for transport infrastructure and other major facilities such as Hong Kong International Airport and the West Kowloon Cultural District.

Reclamation has long been an important source of land supply for Hong Kong as well as neighbouring cities. Between 1985 and 2000, the Government created over 3,000 ha of land through reclamation, i.e. an average of about 200 ha per annum. Over the 15-year period between 2001 and 2015, however, only about 690 ha of land has been reclaimed (mainly in relation to infrastructure projects), i.e. an average of some 40 ha per annum.

This has caused the land supply for housing and other uses to lag behind in recent years.

  • In recent years, Singapore and Macao have been actively reclaiming land from surrounding waters. As a result, the land area of Singapore has been increased by 24% (or 13,800 ha) while that of Macao has been increased by 160% (or 1,900 ha). In fact, the Marina Bay Financial Centre, Changi Airport, the Jurong Town Industrial Park and the East Coast Leisure Park in Singapore were all built on reclaimed land. Reclamation is carried out based on the needs at different stages of development. Take the Jurong Town reclamation project as an example; the project commenced in 1993 and it took 10 years to turn the site into a new industrial park. Today, Jurong Island is home to more than 100 petroleum, petrochemical and specialty chemical companies.

In Search of Suitable Reclamation Sites

The main concerns about reclamation are its impact on coastal habitats, marine ecology (for example, the Chinese White Dolphin and the habitat for coral), fisheries resources, port operations, marine and land traffic, and the local communities (including those living in waterfront developments). Hence, the Government has taken impact on the environment and the local communities as major site selection criteria when contemplating substantial new reclamation project.

Between 2011 and 2014, the Government conducted a study titled "Enhancing Land Supply Strategy – Reclamation outside Victoria Harbour and Rock Cavern Development" (ELSS). This included a citywide search to identify potential reclamation sites, and a two-stage public engagement (PE) exercise. The results of the Stage 1 PE revealed that there was broad support for a six-pronged approach

Include resumption of land in rural areas, urban renewal, change of land use, reuse of quarry sites, development of caverns and reclamation.

to increasing land supply, which included reclamation. The public generally agreed on the site selection criteria for reclamation, with the impacts on the environment and the local community regarded as the most important criteria. There was also consensus that more land would be required to meet housing needs, improve people's living environment, enable infrastructural development, and support the building of a land reserve.

Based on the above criteria and the results of broad technical assessments, including environmental impact assessments, the Government has selected several potential reclamation locations outside Victoria Harbour. Five of these are near-shore sites at Lung Kwu Tan in Tuen Mun, Siu Ho Wan and Sunny Bay in North Lantau, Ma Liu Shui in Sha Tin, and Tsing Yi Southwest. In addition, the exercise has identified the potential for developing artificial islands in the Central Waters between Lantau and Hong Kong Island. Collectively, they are known as the "5 plus 1" reclamation sites. They were made known during the Stage 2 PE of ELSS; public views on individual sites were collected for further consideration.

On the other hand, there are suggestions for other reclamation locations outside Victoria Harbour from individuals or organisations, e.g. Castle Peak Bay of Tuen Mun and Tseung Kwan O.

Benefits of Development

Reclamation can generate a large piece of new land with greater flexibility for comprehensive planning of a new community. In particular, reclamation can create smart, green and resilient development. In developed areas, newly reclaimed land can provide expansion space for a new town nearby, e.g. Tung Chung New Town Extension.

For relatively remote locations, the new land can be used as relocation sites to accommodate facilities affected by other land supply options, and provide space for moving special industrial or "Not-in-My-Backyard" facilities away from the urban areas.

  • Reclamation at Lung Kwu Tan ( ①in the map below), located at the west tip of Tuen Mun, is expected to provide developable land of about 220 to 250 ha for industrial and other uses, including special industries. Through consolidating and enhancing facilities, this can help rationalise the activities of existing brownfield areas.

  • Reclamation at Siu Ho Wan ( ②in the map below) on North Lantau is expected to provide developable land of about 60 to 80 ha for residential and education facilities.

  • Sunny Bay ( ③in the map below) on North Lantau, with proximity to the Hong Kong International Airport, is easily accessible to tourist spots on Lantau such as the Hong Kong Disneyland through connection to the North Lantau Highway and existing railway network. It is expected that Sunny Bay reclamation can provide about 60 to 100 ha of developable land. This project is positioned as a "North-East Lantau tourism gateway", planned for developing into a leisure, sports, recreation, entertainment and tourism hub.

  • Tsing Yi Southwest reclamation ( ④in the map below) is subject to review (including the size of reclamation and usage of land) as the site is close to a number of potentially hazardous facilities including industrial facilities and oil tanks. The proposed site is more suitable for port facilities according to planning at this stage.

  • In an area with good transport and railway network connections and close to Hong Kong Science Park and the Chinese University of Hong Kong, the Ma Liu Shui reclamation ( ⑤in the map below) is expected to provide developable land of about 60 ha for high technology and knowledge- based industries, housing and other uses.

The Lung Kwu Tan reclamation is expected to provide developable land of about 220 to 250 ha for industrial and other uses.

The Ma Liu Shui reclamation is expected to provide developable land of around 60 ha
for high technology and knowledge based industries, housing and other uses.

The Sunny Bay reclamation is expected to provide about 60 to 100 ha
of developable land for developing into a leisure, sports, recreational, entertainment and tourism hub.

The Siu Ho Wan reclamation is expected to provide developable land of about 60 to 80 ha for residential and education facilities.

The proposed artificial islands in the Central Water are expected to provide more than 1,000 ha of developable land.

Unlike other land supply options, reclamation does not have a major impact on existing land use, and generally does not require private land resumption or household resettlements. In addition, reclamation is a means for building land reserves to meet the ever-changing needs of society

Reclamation is also an ideal outlet for handling locally-generated public fill.

Among the "5 plus 1" potential sites, the proposed artificial islands in the Central Waters can provide the greatest area of developable land with an area of about 1,000 ha; they can also avoid shorelines with high ecological value. The new land can be used for holistic land use planning and design for housing, commercial and industrial purposes. This also matches the innovative concepts of urban planning and design under the "Hong Kong 2030+", which advocates the development of a smart, liveable and low-carbon "East Lantau Metropolis" (ELM). Based on initial estimates, the ELM can accommodate a population of 400,000 to 700,000 and provide about 200,000 employment opportunities.

  • The artificial islands in the Central Waters can provide sizeable flat land at a strategic location between Lantau and Hong Kong Island for the development of the ELM, including a new town and a Central Business District (CBD), to improve the spatial distribution of homes and jobs in Hong Kong.
  • The construction of new connecting transport infrastructure also offers an opportunity to enhance transport connectivity between the urban areas, Lantau and the western NT, including constructing the Northwest NT - Lantau - Metropolis Corridor as proposed in the "Hong Kong 2030+" study. It also provides an alternative transport link to the Hong Kong International Airport. In addition, it will strengthen transport connections from the established CBD to the Pearl River Delta east and west, bringing significant social and economic benefits to the whole society.
  • The development of the ELM together with the other near-shore reclamations along the northern coast of Lantau Island is therefore of strategic importance to the future development of Hong Kong, as set out in the "Sustainable Lantau Blueprint".
  • In addition, some suggest that the possibility of constructing artificial islands in the south of the Central Waters, in particular the southern water of Cheung Chau, can be considered. The Government plans to explore such possibility in the study on Central Waters artificial island.

Costs of Development

The cost of reclamation largely depends on the depth of water and area of development of the proposed site. Other costs include supporting infrastructural facilities (external connecting roads, water supply, sewage, flood control facilities, etc.); external transport infrastructure (in particular for artificial islands); compensation (including special allowances related to fishermen and marine fish farmers); and the expenses involved in relocating any existing facilities.

Reclamation projects usually require substantial capital investments. Past experience, however, shows that near-shore reclamation is a relatively cost-effective land supply option, in particular at those sites which are close to existing transport network and can enjoy the benefits of shared use of supporting infrastructure (such as water supply and sewage facilities) already in place in nearby developed areas.

Regarding artificial islands, since they are constructed in the Central Waters without any transport or infrastructural facilities, relatively heavier investments will be required. Nevertheless, the proposed artificial islands in the Central Waters can bring enormous socio-economic benefits to the whole community. The 1,000 ha reclaimed land can be used to build a new town and a CBD. The external transport facilities built in connection with this development can also strengthen the transport network connection between western NT, Lantau and the urban areas.

  • Based on the results of technical studies, the development cost of reclamation and infrastructure facilities for the five near-shore projects is estimated to be approximately $15,000 to $25,000 per square meter, based on price levels as at September 2017.
  • For the artificial islands in the Central Waters, where large-scale external transport infrastructure facilities are likely to be required, the estimated development cost will be above the high end of the budget for near-shore reclamation projects.

Reclamation may affect the marine ecology, fishery resources, port operations, sea transport and road transport in the vicinity. Hence, it is necessary to fully consider the above factors, conduct detailed technical studies and consult relevant stakeholders when drawing up the reclamation plan, and adopt appropriate measures to avoid or mitigate these effects.

Challenges and Uncertainties

During the reclamation period, fine particles and sediments from seabed released from or stirred up during offshore construction work will affect water quality. The Government adopts the most advanced and environmentally friendly reclamation methods for reclamation work where feasible and practicable, such as non-dredged seawall design, and will actively explore the setup of "eco-shoreline".

  • The "eco-shoreline" concept uses the waterways or artificial shorelines to plant mangroves, build mud flats and create artificial wetlands, so as to enhance bio-diversity in the waters nearby. It can provide a natural environment along the shorelines for the public to enjoy.
  • The Government will also study appropriate locations for laying artificial reefs, in order to enhance biological habitats in the sea and boost fishery resources.

Inevitably, some fishery activities and operations near reclamation sites may be limited or constrained by the construction work. For engineering design and environmental impact assessment stages in the future, the Government will optimise design and construction options, and propose appropriate mitigation and compensation measures, to lessen the impact that may arise from reclamation on fish culture areas and fishery industries nearby.

The Government has conducted Strategic Environmental Assessments and Cumulative Environmental Impact Assessments for selected reclamation sites, and looked into possible mitigating measures. Among them, the bio-sensitivity of the Central Waters is lower than that of other nearby waters, rendering it more suitable for large-scale reclamation development. However, reclaiming land in the Central Waters could potentially impact the water quality, bio-sensitive receptors and fisheries nearby; these include coral groups, the Dibamus bogadeki lizard, the white-bellied sea eagle, finless porpoises and fish culture zones. The connecting transport infrastructure such as bridges and tunnels may also impact water flow and quality. The coastline of Kau Yi Chau is a growing site for coral reefs. During the development period, consideration can be given to relocating the coral reefs to other appropriate locations as a mitigation measure to compensate for the loss of coral communities.

Reclamation projects take a long lead time from initial planning to realisation. To reclaim a sizeable piece of land, it is necessary to carry out feasibility, planning and engineering studies that involve several rounds of public engagement. Coupled with other statutory and necessary procedures, and the detailed design and construction work, the process would normally take a decade or more to complete.

Notes:

This figure only shows a typical programme of a reclamation project. The actual time required may vary depending on the project complexities and circumstances.

(Figure 20)

Key Points

  1. Reclamation has long been an important source of land supply. Among the nine existing new towns in Hong Kong, six of them, namely Tsuen Wan, Sha Tin, Tuen Mun, Tai Po, Tseung Kwan O and Tung Chung, were largely built largely on reclaimed land. However, large-scale reclamation has virtually come to a halt for more than 10 years, leading to the land shortage today.
  2. Reclamation can generate a large piece of new land for comprehensive planning of a new community to better meet the daily needs of Hong Kong citizens. Reclamation can also provide space for relocating special industrial or other facilities that have to be moved away from downtown areas; this will in turn release land in urban areas for other purposes.
  3. Unlike other land supply options, reclamation does not have a major impact on existing land uses and generally does not require private land resumption or household resettlements. In addition, the new reclamation methods can minimise the impact on water quality and ecology nearby.
  4. To carry out a reclamation project, it is necessary to conduct feasibility and planning studies, as well as going through other statutory procedures. The entire process normally takes a decade or more to complete. The studies should also take into consideration the impact on the marine ecosystem, so that suitable measures can be taken to meet the requirements of relevant statutory procedures.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

中長期選項
維港以外近岸填海
發展東大嶼都會

為何填海?

填海造地,一直是香港由漁村發展為國際都會的土地供應重要來源。填海能創造大片土地,讓我們較靈活地規劃適切的土地用途,以滿足社會可持續發展的需要。有別於其他土地供應方案,填海既不會對現有土地用途造成重大影響,亦通常不需要收回私人土地及安置居民。截至2016年,香港約有7,000公頃的土地是透過填海取得,佔香港已發展土地面積的25%(佔全港土地總面積約6%)。填海土地容納了約27%的全港人口和70%的商業活動。

在新市鎮的發展中,填海造地擔當相當重要的角色。現時香港9個新市鎮中,其中6個(即荃灣、沙田、屯門、大埔、將軍澳和東涌)均需要不同程度的填海造地才能建成。

填海獲得的土地既能用作房屋和商業用途,亦是運輸基建等重要設施的主要土地供應來源,例如香港國際機場和西九龍文化區。

香港(以至鄰近城市)多年來依賴填海去建設城市。在1985年至2000年期間,政府透過填海創造了超過3,000公頃土地,即每年平均約200公頃。然而,在2001年至2015年的15年間,透過填海所創造的土地只有約690公頃(主要是與基建相關的項目),相等於每年平均40多公頃,以致近年用作房屋和其他用途的土地供應出現落後情況。

  • 鄰近香港的新加坡和澳門,近年積極在其附近水域填海造地,新加坡的土地面積因此增加24%(即13,800公頃),澳門的土地面積更增加約160%(即19,00公頃)。事實上,新加坡的濱海灣金融中心、樟宜機場、工業園區裕廊島及東海灣的土地均來自填海,各填海區域的功能主要是滿足當地不同階段的發展需要。例如裕廊島填海項目於1993年展開,歷時10年,發展為新工業園區用地,現時有過百間石油、石化及化學品公司在區內經營。

搜尋合適填海選址

公眾關注填海對海岸生存環境、海洋生態(例如中華白海豚和珊瑚生境)和漁業資源、港口運作、海上及陸上交通和社區(包括臨海住宅)的影響。因此,政府在考慮任何大規模填海工程時,均會以對環境和當地社區的影響為主要的選址準則。

政府在2011年至2014年期間進行《優化土地供應策略:維港以外填海及發展岩洞》的研究,當中包括在全港範圍進行搜尋,以物色具潛力填海地點,並分兩階段進行公眾參與活動。根據第一階段公眾參與活動的結果,公眾普遍支持以「六管齊下」

包括在鄉郊收地、重建舊區、更改土地用途、重用前石礦場、發展岩洞及填海。

的方式增加土地供應,當中包括填海。公眾大致贊同填海的選址準則,而對環境及當地社區的影響亦被視為最重要的考慮因素。其他共識包括香港須有更多土地以應付房屋需要、締造更佳居住環境和推展基建項目,以及支持建立土地儲備。

基於上述準則及進行概括技術評估(包括環境評估)後,政府挑選了一些維港以外填海的選址,其中5個近岸填海地點包括屯門的龍鼓灘、北大嶼山的小蠔灣和欣澳、沙田的馬料水及青衣西南;此外包括在大嶼山與香港島之間擬議發展人工島的中部水域(以下統稱「5加1」填海選址),供進一步探討。政府在《優化土地供應策略:維港以外填海及發展岩洞》第二階段公眾參與活動中,提供了該些填海地點的資料及收集公眾意見,以作進一步考慮。

此外,社會上亦有人士或團體建議於其他近岸位置填海,例如屯門青山灣及將軍澳等。

發展效益

填海能創造大片新土地,可為新社區的綜合規劃提供較大彈性。特別是建立智慧、環保且具抗禦力的發展區。就已發展區而言,在鄰近海域填海所得的新土地可用作新市鎮的擴展,例如正在進行中的東涌新市鎮擴展。

至於相對偏遠的地點,新土地可用作調遷受其他土地供應方案影響的設施,亦可提供空間,重置需遷離市區的特殊工業或厭惡性設施。

  • 位於屯門最西面的龍鼓灘(下圖①),預計填海可發展土地約220公頃至250公頃,用作工業及其他用途,包括可供特殊工業使用,及透過整合和提升設施以理順現時棕地地帶的活動。

  • 位於北大嶼山的小蠔灣(下圖②),預計填海可發展土地約60公頃至80公頃,可發展作住宅和教育設施之用。

  • 位處北大嶼山的欣澳(下圖③),鄰近香港國際機場,可連接北大嶼山公路及現有鐵路網絡,前往大嶼山其他旅遊景點如香港迪士尼樂園;預計填海可發展土地約60公頃至100公頃,項目被定位為「東北大嶼旅遊門戶」,可規劃及發展為休閒、運動、康樂、娛樂和旅遊匯點。

  • 青衣西南(下圖④)鄰近有不少工業設施及油庫等潛在危險裝置,故填海面積及土地用途有待研究。按現時的布局,該選址暫較適合用作港口設施用途。

  • 沙田馬料水(下圖⑤)位處與交通及鐵路網絡有良好連繫的區域,並鄰近香港科學園及香港中文大學,預計填海可發展土地約60公頃,作高科技及知識型工業、房屋和其他用途。

龍鼓灘填海預計可發展土地約220公頃至250公頃,用作工業及其他用途。

馬料水填海預計可發展土地約60公頃,作高科技及知識型工業、房屋和其他用途。

欣澳填海預計可發展土地約60公頃至100公頃,可規劃及發展為休閒、運動、康樂、娛樂和旅遊匯點。

小蠔灣填海預計可發展土地約60至80公頃,可作住宅和教育設施之用。

擬議的中部水域人工島預計可發展土也面積逾1,000公頃。

有別於其他土地供應方案,填海既不會對現有土地用途造成重大影響,通常亦不需收回私人土地及安置居民。填海亦可以建立土地儲備以應付社會不斷變化的需求。

此外,填海能為本地產生的公眾填料提供一個重要的處理途徑。

就上述「5加1」填海選址,中部水域的填海面積最大,擬議的中部水域人工島預計可發展土地面積逾1,000公頃,並可避免影響高生態價值的海岸線。新增土地可作綜合土地用途規劃與設計,提供房屋、商業及工業設施之用,並配合《香港2030+》引入創新的城市規劃及設計概念,發展一個智慧、宜居及低碳的「東大嶼都會」。初步估計,東大嶼都會可容納40萬至70萬居住人口,並提供約20萬個就業機會。

  • 中部水域人工島可以在大嶼山和香港島之間的策略位置提供一大片平坦土地,發展為一個新市鎮和一個核心商業區的「東大嶼都會」,以改善香港的住屋和就業機會的空間分布。
  • 透過為該發展而興建的新策略性運輸接駁基建設施,將提供機遇加強市區、大嶼山和新界西部之間的運輸連接性,包括興建《香港2030+》研究下構思中的新界西北-大嶼山-都會區走廊,亦提供往來香港國際機場的替代運輸幹線;同時將加強從傳統核心商業區到珠三角東及西的運輸連接,為整體社會帶來重大的社會和經濟效益。
  • 因此,《可持續大嶼藍圖》指出發展東大嶼都會和其他沿大嶼山北岸的近岸填海工程,對香港未來發展具有策略重要性。
  • 此外,有意見認為中部水域南部(特別是長洲以南的水域),亦可研究建造人工島。政府亦計劃在中部水域人工島的研究中考慮此建議。

發展成本

填海的成本大致取決於填海選址的水深和發展面積。其餘成本包括基建支援設施(對外連接道路、供水、排污、排水等)、對外運輸基建(特別是人工島),以及補償(包括與漁民及海魚養殖戶相關的特惠津貼)及重置設施的費用。

填海工程通常需要大量資本投資,過去的經驗顯示,近岸填海是一個成本效益相對比較高的土地供應選項,特別是那些靠近現有運輸網絡,並可與鄰近發展地區共享現有配套基建設施(如供水和污水處理設施)的地點。

由於中部水域未有對外運輸基建設施,所以建造成本相對較高。不過,中部水域人工島可為整個社會創造龐大的社會經濟效益。填海所得逾1,000公頃土地可為香港帶來一個新市鎮和一個核心商業區。為該發展而建造的對外運輸基建設施,亦可加強連接新界西部、大嶼山和市區的交通網絡。

  • 參考技術研究所得的資料,就5個近岸填海項目,填海連同基建設施的發展成本粗略估算為每平方米15,000元至25,000元(按2017年9月價格計算)。
  • 至於中部水域人工島,由於預期需要建造較大規模的對外運輸基建設施,發展成本會較近岸填海項目的估算上限為高。

填海可能對海洋生態、漁業資源、港口運作、海上交通和鄰近道路交通造成影響,因此必須充分考慮上述因素,並在推展填海計劃時進行詳細的技術研究及諮詢持份者,以制定合適的措施,避免或緩減相關影響。

挑戰和不確定性

填海在施工階段會因海上工程所釋放的微細顆粒或攪動起海床的沉積物而影響水質。政府會在切實可行的情況下,在填海工程中採用最先進及環保的填海方法,如非疏浚填海及海堤設計;亦會積極研究建造生態海岸線。

  • 生態海岸線的概念是模仿自然潮間帶的設計,或在人工海岸線上種植紅樹林、建造泥灘、創造人工濕地,以增加附近水體的生物多樣性,提供近水的自然環境予市民享用。
  • 政府亦會研究在合適位置敷設人工漁礁,藉以增加水中生物棲息地和豐富漁業資源。

填海地點周邊的捕魚活動和作業可能會因工程而受到限制或干擾。在未來的工程設計及環境影響評估中,政府會優化設計和施工方案,並提出適當的緩解及補償措施,以減低因填海而對鄰近魚類養殖區及漁業可能產生的影響。

政府曾對個別填海選址進行「策略性環境評估」及「累計性環境影響評估」,並研究可能的緩解措施。其中,中部水域較香港其他水域的生態敏感度低,較適合作大規模填海發展之用。誠然,於中部水域填海可能對周邊的多種水質、生態敏感受體及漁業資源造成潛在影響,包括珊瑚群、香港雙足蜥、白腹海鵰、江豚、魚類養殖區等;而接駁的交通基建(包括橋樑及隧道等)也可能對水流及水質造成影響。交椅洲周邊海岸為珊瑚礁的生長地,在發展時可考慮遷移珊瑚至其他合適地點作易地緩解,以補償珊瑚區的損失。

填海項目由規劃至落實完成,需要相當長的時間。要填海造出大片土地,須進行所需的可行性研究,以及規劃和工程研究,當中包括多輪的公眾參與活動,加上其他法定和所需程序、詳細設計及施工,故整個土地發展過程通常需時10年或更長時間。

註釋:
  1. 本圖表列示一般填海工程的時間表。個別填海工程所需的時間要視乎其複雜性及情況而定

要點

  1. 填海造地一直是土地供應的重要來源。現時香港9個新市鎮中,其中6個(即荃灣、沙田、屯門、大埔、將軍澳和東涌)均大多在填海土地上興建。但過去十多年大型填海工程幾乎停頓,造成今天土地短缺情況。
  2. 填海一方面能創造大片新土地,為新社區作出完善規劃,更好照顧市民的日常需要,另一方面可提供空間重置需遷離市區的特殊工業或其他設施,騰出市區土地作其他用途。
  3. 有別於其他土地供應方案,填海一般不會對現有土地用途造成重大影響,通常亦不需收回私人土地及安置居民。此外,最新的填海技術能減低對周遭水質和生態的影響。
  4. 要填海造地須進行所需的可行性研究、規劃及其他法定所需程序等,通常需時10年或更長時間。研究過程當中必須考慮對海洋生態的影響以及制定相應措施,亦必須滿足相關法定程序的要求。