Skip to main content

Medium to Long Term Option
Developing the River Trade Terminal site
Conceptual Option
Developing the River Trade Terminal Site and its Surroundings in the Long Term

River Trade Terminal

River Trade Terminal (RTT) in Tuen Mun West, occupying an area of 65 ha, is a privately-run terminal with 49 berths along 3,000 metres of quay front. It primarily handles and consolidates containers and cargos shipped from the Pearl River Delta region prior to dispatch to the Kwai Tsing Container Terminals (KTCTs) and other port facilities in Hong Kong for onward shipment and vice versa.

In recent years, due to the rapid development of port facilities within the Pearl River Delta region, the RTT's cargo handling volume has been dwindling. In 2017, the utilisation rate of the RTT berths was only 24% of its capacity. Discounting the throughput from double handling, the share handled solely by the RTT was roughly 3% of Hong Kong Port's total container throughput. If the RTT site is to be released for other developments, and with completion of all necessary procedures for the relevant sites and subject to upgrading of other port facilities, if required, there is a possibility that the throughput of the RTT can be absorbed by other port facilities, such as KTCTs, Public Cargo Working Areas and midstream sites, without giving rise to new land requirements.

Benefits of Development

Given the RTT's dwindling cargo handling volume, there is a suggestion to use the site which has a large area with good transport connections for other purposes to better meet the prevailing needs of the community.

Tuen Mun West where the RTT site is located is predominantly industrial in character, with a focus on modern logistics, special industries and industrial uses. Taking into account the compatibility with the adjoining uses, one suggestion is to accommodate industrial and brownfield-related operations in this 65-ha site, including logistics, vehicle repair workshops, environmental industry, etc. to release brownfield sites in the NT for development.

Apart from the compatibility with surrounding land uses, industrial uses generate less vehicular traffic than non-industrial uses at peak hours and create less extra loading on the existing congested road network in Tuen Mun.

There are also suggestions that the RTT side should be used for housing development to meet the demand for housing land. Nevertheless, if developed on its own, land use compatibility between housing development and the existing industrial character of Tuen Mun West would be a major challenge. In particular, air quality and noise impacts arising from the nearby industrial developments and road infrastructures including the future Tuen Mun-Chek Lap Kok Link may seriously affect the residents.

The proposed Lung Kwu Tan reclamation provides an opportunity to rationalise the industrial land along the entire western coastal area of Tuen Mun. By relocating the adjoining incompatible uses to the Lung Kwu Tan reclamation, the feasibility of using the RTT site and adjoining land for housing development can be explored.

This comprehensive and thorough examination of the potential of the RTT site and adjoining land for housing development would achieve better economies of scale. It would also address the problem of land use compatibility, provide more space for better planning of the community, and facilitate strategic planning of transport infrastructure to expand the transport infrastructure network and create capacity to support the future development of the surrounding areas of RTT as well as northwest NT. Purely drawing reference from the TCNTE

Under the TCNTE, about 121 ha of land will be reclaimed in Tung Chung East for development, providing about 40,800 housing units.

and without the support of technical studies, arithmetically speaking the 65-ha RTT site may produce about 22,000 housing units (as compared to the existing housing stock of about 170,000 units in Tuen Mun).

Costs of Development

Developing the RTT site for alternative uses may involve costs to upgrade other port facilities to absorb the RTT's throughput; site formation and decontamination costs (and reclamation costs if reclaiming the existing basin and near-shore for more developable land); and the costs to upgrade the existing infrastructure (including traffic and transport, water supply, sewerage, drainage, etc.).

If the adjoining incompatible uses are relocated to Lung Kwu Tan for comprehensive rationalisation of the entire western coastal area of Tuen Mun, the costs of relocating these facilities should be added. In addition, there could be opportunity cost for replacing some of the land uses already planned in Lung Kwu Tan.

Challenges and Uncertainties

The RTT site is a piece of private land with lease term up to 2047. Suitable arrangement will need to be explored for alternative use of the site before expiry of the lease term.

The road network in Tuen Mun and the MTR West Rail Line are reaching their capacities. In considering alternative use of the site, improvements to disperse the high traffic flow and public transport needs should be identified to avoid aggravating the current congestion. The issues of air quality, noise, provision of infrastructure and public utility, as well as land ownership, should also be addressed. The landfill in NT West is close to the RTT site; both use Lung Mun Road as the gateway. Developing the RTT site also requires resolving the environmental problem related to the landfill area. Besides, the RTT site is subject to the airport height restriction under the Three-Runway System of the Hong Kong International Airport. The technical feasibility of residential development on the RTT site, and its interface with the implementation programme of the immediately adjacent incompatible land uses, are yet to be ascertained by comprehensive studies.

As it would take time to study these complicated issues, alternative use of the RTT site can only be regarded as a medium to long-term land supply option.

Besides, relocating the adjoining incompatible uses to Lung Kwu Tan to facilitate a comprehensive rationalisation of land uses along the entire western coastal area of Tuen Mun will hinge on the implementation of Lung Kwu Tan reclamation. The feasibility and cost effectiveness of relocating the related facilities; the impacts on current operation of related facilities; the replacement of some planned uses in Lung Kwu Tan; and the land use compatibility, traffic, environmental and visual impacts arising from the relocation should also be assessed. As relocation of existing facilities is involved, a longer time is required to implement this suggestion.

Key Points

  1. The cargo handling volume of RTT in Tuen Mun West has been dwindling. There is a suggestion for alternative use of the RTT site to better meet the prevailing needs of the community.
  2. Taking into account the existing industrial uses in Tuen Mun West, the 65-ha RTT site may be used to accommodate industrial and brownfield-related operations to release brownfields in the NT for development. If the feasibility of developing the RTT side for housing development is to be studied, the proposed Lung Kwu Tan reclamation can provide an opportunity to rationalise the land uses along the entire western coastal area of Tuen Mun. By relocating the incompatible uses to the Lung Kwu Tan reclamation site, the feasibility of using the RTT site and adjoining land for housing development can be explored in a more comprehensive and holistic manner.
  3. As it would take time to study, alternative use of the RTT site can only be regarded as a medium to long-term land supply option. If the development of RTT is to be considered in the context of the Lung Kwu Tan reclamation in a holistic manner, feasibility studies and relocation of existing facilities will be involved, and a longer time is required.

River Trade Terminal
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

中長期選項
發展香港內河碼頭用地
概念性選項
長遠發展香港內河碼頭用地及鄰近用地

香港內河碼頭

位於屯門西的香港內河碼頭佔地65公頃,屬私營碼頭,一共提供49個總長度達3,000米的泊位,主要處理及集裝經水路來自珠三角地區的貨櫃及貨物,然後運往葵青貨櫃碼頭及香港其他港口設施再行轉運,以及作反向的作業。

近年珠三角區內的港口設施急速發展,使內河碼頭的貨物處理量逐漸減少。在2017年,內河碼頭的泊位使用率僅為其容量的24%。扣除雙重處理所產生的吞吐量,純粹由內河碼頭處理的吞吐量約佔香港港口貨櫃總吞吐量3%。若內河碼頭用地需騰出作其他用途,在完成相關用地所須程序,並按需要提升香港其他港口設施後,內河碼頭的吞吐量有可能在不需要新土地的情況下,由其他本港港口設施所吸納,例如葵青貨櫃碼頭、公眾貨物裝卸區及中流作業用地。

發展效益

由於內河碼頭的貨物處理量逐漸減少,有建議將這幅佔地甚廣而相對交通便捷的用地改作其他用途,以更切合社會當前的需要。

內河碼頭用地所在的屯門西,土地用途以工業性質為主,側重於現代物流、特殊工業及工業用途。考慮到與周邊用途的兼容性,其中一個建議是利用這幅65公頃用地容納工業及與棕地相關的作業,如物流、修車場、環保工業等,騰空新界棕地作發展用途。

除了與附近土地用途互相協調外,工業用途在繁忙時間產生的交通流量較非工業用途少,會對現時已經擠塞的屯門道路網絡帶來較小的額外負擔。

另有建議指出,內河碼頭應用作房屋發展,以滿足社會對房屋用地的需求。然而,如果內河碼頭用地只作獨立發展,新建房屋與現有屯門西的土地用途的協調性會是一個主要問題,鄰近工業發展及道路基建(包括未來屯門至赤鱲角連接路)帶來的空氣質素及噪音問題,或會對居民造成很大影響。

擬議的龍鼓灘填海

詳情請參閱維港以外近岸填海

可提供契機,重整屯門整個西面沿海地區的工業用地。透過將不協調用途搬遷至龍鼓灘的填海地,可探討將這內河碼頭用地及毗鄰土地用作住宅發展的可行性。

這個較全面和徹底的做法,可為內河碼頭和附近用地的房屋發展建議帶來規模效益,同時解決土地用途的兼容性問題,提供更多空間做好社區規劃,並從策略性角度去規劃交通基建設施,以拉闊運輸基建網絡,創造容量空間,來支援內河碼頭一帶和新界西北的發展。在未有技術評估的支持,單純參考東涌新市鎮擴展

東涌新市鎮擴展將會在東涌東填海約121公頃作發展,提供40,800個住宅單位。

的數據作簡單運算,65公頃的內河碼頭用地或可提供約22,000個住宅單位(現時屯門約有170,000個住宅單位)

發展成本

若將內河碼頭用地作其他用途,涉及的成本或包括提升其他本港港口設施以吸納內河碼頭吞吐量的費用;土地平整及除污費用(若在現有內灣及近岸填海增加可發展土地,則再加上填海費用);以及提升基建設施(包括交通及運輸、供水、排污、排水等)的費用。

若將毗鄰不協調用途搬遷至龍鼓灘以全面重整屯門的整個西面沿海地區的土地,則須加上重置相關設施的費用,以及取代某些原本規劃在龍鼓灘的用途的機會成本。

挑戰和不確定性

香港內河碼頭用地為私人土地,契約年期會於2047年屆滿。若要在契約屆滿前將這幅用地作其他用途,須尋求合適安排落實建議。

由於屯門交通網絡及港鐵西鐵綫的容量已接近飽和,在考慮將這幅用地用作其他用途時,需要尋求改善方法,分散龐大的交通流量及公共交通需求,以免加劇現時擠塞及擠迫情況。另外亦須解決空氣質素、噪音、基建及公用設施的提供,以及土地業權等問題。新界西堆填區鄰近內河碼頭並共用龍門路出入,發展內河碼頭用地亦需解決堆填區所產生的環境問題。此外,內河碼頭用地受限於香港國際機場三跑道系統的機場高度限制。將內河碼頭用地作住宅發展是否技術上可行,以及有關發展與毗鄰不協調的土地用途落實時間的互相影響,仍有待全面研究確定。

由於需要時間研究上述複雜問題,將內河碼頭用地作其他用途的方案,只可成為中至長期的土地供應選項。

此外,能否將毗鄰的不協調用途搬遷至龍鼓灘以全面重整屯門整個西面沿海地區的土地,須視乎龍鼓灘填海能否落實,亦需要評估搬遷相關設施的可行性及成本效益、對相關設施現有運作的影響、取代某些在龍鼓灘的規劃用途,以及搬遷後對土地用途兼容性、交通、環境及景觀的影響。由於涉及搬遷現有設施,可能需要更長時間落實這項建議。

要點

  1. 屯門西的香港內河碼頭的貨物處理量逐漸減少,有建議將內河碼頭用地改作其他用途,以更切合社會當前的需要。
  2. 考慮到屯門西一帶的現有工業用途,可考慮利用內河碼頭65公頃的用地容納工業及與棕地相關的作業,騰空新界棕地作發展用途。若要考慮將內河碼頭作住宅發展的可行性,則可透過擬議的龍鼓灘填海所提供的契機,重整屯門整個西面沿海地區,考慮將不協調用途搬遷至龍鼓灘的填海地,以便以綜合及全面的角度探討將內河碼頭用地及毗鄰土地用作住宅發展的可行性。
  3. 由於需要時間研究,將內河碼頭作其他用途只可成為中至長期的土地供應選項。而將內河碼頭用地連同擬議龍鼓灘填海項目作整全規劃的方案,由於涉及可行性研究和搬遷現有設施,或需要更長時間。

香港內河碼頭