Skip to main content

Conceptual Option
Topside Development of Existing Transport Infrastructure
Utilising the Development Potential of Public Utilities Sites

How can the Space and Development Potential of the Sites for Transport Infrastructure and Public Utilities be Better Utilised?

Some members of the community have suggested that the space and development potential of transport infrastructure, such as roads, railways and railway maintenance depots; as well as public utilities such as telephone exchanges should be better utilised to increase land supply. One suggestion is to undertake topside residential development above transport infrastructure

The potential locations suggestions put forward by some in the community include Pat Heung Maintenance Depot of the MTR Corporation Limited, the waterfront area along the highway in Ma Liu Shui close to the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Yau Mau Tei Interchange, the interchange at the south-east side of Mei Foo Sun Chuen, and the interchange between Mei Foo Sun Chuen and the container terminals.

and public utilities.

There are in fact examples of topside housing development above transport infrastructure in Hong Kong. In general, however, the planning, design and construction of transport infrastructure is taken forward in parallel with topside housing development to better integrate the functional uses of both developments and miminise complicated interface issues. There are precedents of building housing over transport infrastructure after completion of the transport infrastructure, showing that the concept is not technically infeasible. Existing transport infrastructure would however pose considerable constraints to the planning, design and construction of topside development. Topside development after completion of transport infrastructure will therefore be more complicated than cases involving comprehensive planning in the initial stage. The impact of the topside development on the transport infrastructure underneath would also need to be carefully examined.

  • There are a number of large-scale housing estates built above railway stations or depots, or in their vicinity. The Government is actively exploring with the MTR Corporation Limited (MTRCL) the development potential of the sites along existing and future railway lines. For example, the Government has announced ae residential development above the MTRCL's Yau Tong Ventilation Building, which can provide around 500 flats. The Government is also assessing the viability of topside development over railway depots such as Pat Heung and Siu Ho Wan.
  • MTRCL's studies show that the Siu Ho Wan Depot site could provide not less than 14,000 housing units in the medium to long term. Taking forward this development would require reprovisioning of the existing railway depot at the same location while ensuring its normal and safe operation, including the parking and maintenance of trains, along with other supporting services, at all times during and after the works.

In terms of the sites for public utilities, the Government will in general review whether there is a need to retain the land for its original use in accordance with the existing mechanism before the expiry of the land leases. The Government will also review as appropriate the development potential of individual sites, including potential for topside development, in accordance with the planning studies for that area. This is especially the case if the site is larger or well-located.

  • Telephone exchanges offer an example of public utilities. Most of the sites for telephone exchanges are relatively small, with only two with over 4,000 square metres and located in urban areas.

Benefits of Development

Topside development above transport infrastructure and public utilities can better utilise the space and development potential of these sites. Even though various factors might make some sites unsuitable for housing development, other uses can be considered.

For example, the topside provision of recreational facilities or green space for public enjoyment and for enhancement of the urban environment.

For public utilities sites, releasing the sites for other purposes can be considered if it is not necessary to retain the land for its original use.

Costs of Development

As future topside development was not factored into the designs of existing transport infrastructure when built, there would be various constraints and challenges to overcome. These include technical issues such as the viability of constructing an elevated platform and its supporting structure, and issues such as compatibility of the land use, property rights for topside housing development, visual impact, as well as the impact on landscape, air ventilation, environment and transport facilities, etc.

In view of the scale and complexity of building an elevated platform and its associated structure, a longer construction period would be required, and the overall cost would be higher.

If topside development over public utilities is required, considerations similar to those of transport infrastructure will be involved.

Challenges and Uncertainties

Some of the transport infrastructure serve as major roads. A long-spanned elevated platforms over existing highways may be required. If all or part of the topside buildings are to be located on the long-spanned elevated platform, the construction cost would be even higher.

Some of the major roads in the urban areas help improve ventilation, bring natural sunlight and disperse pollutants to a certain extent. Topside development along these roads may affect such functions and the view of the buildings nearby.

Topside development over transport infrastructure should be pursued in accordance with the Town Planning Ordinance (Cap. 131), including the necessary amendments to statutory plans. Gazettal procedures may also be required in accordance with the Roads (Works, Use and Compensation) Ordinance (Cap. 370).

Depending on the circumstances of the selected sites, even if it is proven to be technically feasible to undertake topside development over transport infrastructure and public utilities, it can only be a medium-to-long term land supply option.

Key Points

  1. The normal practice for topside development over transport infrastructure is to plan, design and construct the infrastructure and topside facilities in parallel. Undertaking topside development over a completed facility may pose considerable limitations and challenges on the topside development.
  2. When building housing units or other facilities over transport infrastructure or public utilities, various factors have to be examined in detail, such as the viability of constructing an elevated platform and its supporting structure, the compatibility of topside housing development with its surroundings, and its impact on transport, environment and landscape. Relevant statutory procedures should also be complied with. Hence, it can only be considered a medium-to-long-term land supply option if it is proven technically feasible.
  3. Development potential, including topside development, of public utilities sites that are relatively large and better located can be considered if it is no longer needed to retain the land for the original use.
| Last Revision Date: 5 December 2018

跳至主要內容

概念性選項
於現有運輸基建設施上作
上蓋發展
利用公用事業設施用地的
發展潛力

如何善用運輸基建設施及公用事業設施用地的空間及發展潛力?

社會上有建議指應更充分地運用運輸基建設施(例如公路、鐵路及鐵路維修車廠)及公用事業設施(例如電話機樓)用地的空間及發展潛力,以增加土地供應。其中一個建議方案是於這些運輸基建設施

部分坊間建議的潛在位置包括港鐵八鄉車廠、馬料水鄰近香港中文大學的公路上方的沿岸地帶、油麻地交匯處、美孚新邨東南面的道路交匯處、美孚新邨與貨櫃碼頭之間的道路交匯處。

及公用事業設施上作上蓋發展,以興建房屋。

香港不乏於運輸基建設施的上方發展房屋的例子,但一般的做法是同步處理運輸基建設施和上蓋房屋發展的規劃、設計和建造工程,以更好地融合兩者的功能及減少複雜的介面問題。儘管過去亦有例子是在已落成的運輸基建設施上加建上蓋及房屋,有關建議並非技術上不可行,但落成了一段時間的運輸基建設施會對上蓋發展的規劃、設計及建造帶來一定的掣肘,較在發展初期便作綜合規劃的情況複雜,而上蓋發展對運輸基建設施所造成的影響亦須審慎檢視。

  • 現時有不少大型屋苑建於鐵路站或鐵路車廠上蓋或周邊用地,政府亦正與香港鐵路有限公司積極探討現有及未來鐵路沿線相關土地的發展潛力。當中,政府已公布港鐵公司的油塘通風大樓用地作上蓋住宅發展,可提供約500個單位。政府亦正考慮在現有鐵路車廠上蓋發展的可行性,包括八鄉和小蠔灣。
  • 港鐵公司的研究顯示,小蠔灣車廠的用地在中至長期可提供不少於14,000個住宅單位。推行該發展須在原有位置重置現有鐵路車廠,而在工程期間及工程之後的任何時間,必須維持該車廠的正常安全運作,包括提供列車停泊、維修和其他支援服務。

至於公用事業設施用地,一般而言,政府會在這些用地的地契期滿前,按現時機制檢視是否有需要保留用地作原有用途,亦會因應情況,根據個別地區的規劃研究,檢視個別用地(特別是面積較大、位置較佳的用地)是否有發展潛力,包括是否有潛力作上蓋發展。

  • 電話機樓是公用事業設施的其中一個例子。這些電話機樓用地大多數面積較小,而當中只有兩幅逾4,000平方米並位處於市區。

發展效益

發展運輸基建設施及公用事業設施用地的上蓋,可更充分地運用土地的空間及發展潛力。即使相關用地因各種原因不適宜作房屋發展,亦可考慮作其他用途。例如於上蓋興建休憩或綠化設施,供市民享用,並藉此改善市區環境。

就公用事業設施用地,如已毋須保留用地作原有用途,則可考慮將有關用地釋放作其他用途。

發展成本

由於在設計現有運輸基建設施時沒有考慮日後進行上蓋發展,當中須克服現有設施所帶來的限制及挑戰。需要處理的技術問題包括建造高架平台和支撐構築物的可行性;規劃問題則包括土地用途的相容性、上蓋房屋發展的業權問題,以及對視覺景觀、空氣流通、環境和交通的影響等。

鑑於高架平台及其相關工程的規模和複雜性,所需的施工期將會較長,整體建築成本會較高。

至於公用事業設施用地,若要進行上蓋發展,涉及的考慮因素與於運輸基建設施作上蓋發展相若。

挑戰和不確定性

部分運輸基建設施為主要幹道,興建高架平台或需要長跨度結構以橫跨現有道路。假若全部或部分的上蓋樓宇坐落於長跨度高架平台上,建築成本會更高。

市區中部分主要道路對改善通風、引入天然光及消散污染物有一定作用,於這些道路上作上蓋發展或會影響這些功效,亦可能影響附近樓宇的景觀。

於運輸基建設施進行上蓋發展的建議須按《城市規劃條例》(第131章)修改法定圖則,亦可能須按《道路(工程、使用及補償)條例》(第370章)作出刊憲。

視乎具體選址的情況,即使於運輸基建設施及公用事業設施上作上蓋發展的建議技術上可行,亦只能視為一個中至長期的土地供應選項。

要點

  1. 於運輸基建設施或公用事業設施用地的上方發展房屋,一般的做法是同步處理運輸基建設施和上蓋房屋發展的規劃、設計和建造工程。已落成的設施會對上蓋發展帶來一定的掣肘和挑戰。
  2. 若於運輸基建設施或公用事業設施用地的上方發展房屋或其他設施,須研究及詳細審視多項因素,包括建造高架平台和支撐構築物的可行性、上蓋房屋發展與附近環境的相容性,以及對交通、環境、景觀的影響等,亦需要進行所需的法定程序。即使證實可行,亦只可視為中長期的土地供應選項。
  3. 面積較大、位置較佳的公用事業設施用地如已毋須保留作原有用途,可研究用地是否具發展潛力(包括作上蓋發展)。